Discussion on the newly released map 835

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by black snow, Aug 20, 2009.

  1. black snow

    black snow

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saskatoon SK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720
    Map of North America V 835.2419 is now avaiolable!

    now to avail of the LMG.
     
    black snow, Aug 20, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. black snow

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    New maps (version 835) are being made available globally - I'm performing my backup and will upgrade...

    I'll also test if the new HOME still requires this workaround to keep favorites.

    And as with all map upgrades - if your Tomtom doesn't start up after the upgrade, follow these steps.

    If you're trying to use "Latest map guarantee", and you aren't offered map 835, follow these steps.
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2009
    mvl, Aug 20, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. black snow

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    I had the same issues with reboots that required this fix. Seems like most, if not all, members will face this issue. More to come - I'll take the new map on a test drive.
     
    mvl, Aug 20, 2009
    #3
  4. black snow

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Finished my morning commute - first impression is that they weren't kidding when they said they added 500,000 community-provided changes.

    My drive to work had a TON of new roads. Mostly parking lots and cul-de-sacs so far, but there is a huge improvement.

    Also did a quick route plan for DHN - No lane guidance that I could find in Toronto...
     
    mvl, Aug 20, 2009
    #4
  5. black snow

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    That's it! Get a room ready........I'm moving to Boston! :mad::mad:
     
    dhn, Aug 20, 2009
    #5
  6. black snow

    Statman

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Boulder & Santa Monica
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 730
    As always, thanks for your easy instructions to "fix" the updated maps.
     
    Statman, Aug 20, 2009
    #6
  7. black snow

    ApK

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Note that LMG is offering many of us (according to TT support) the 830 version, NOT the 835.
    TT said they are aware of this and expect to have the LMG fixed later today or tomorrow.

    So for those new owners like me waiting to use the LMG, make SURE LMG is offering you the 835, not the 830, before you click download!

    If it's the last day of your LMG eligibility, you will probably want to call support and explain the situation.

    Thanks for the forum, guys!

    ApK
     
    ApK, Aug 20, 2009
    #7
  8. black snow

    zengshengliu

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 600, 740TM Live
    Looks like I don't have the problem:D
     
    zengshengliu, Aug 20, 2009
    #8
  9. black snow

    theparson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Via 1535TM
    I'm downloading the map now. I was offered the map and quarterly updates when I connected my 140S to Home. It didn't show the file size until I had already purchased it. I don't see how it is going to fit. The map is almost 2 GB.

    I'll let you know how it goes.
     
    theparson, Aug 20, 2009
    #9
  10. black snow

    dervari

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    2
    No issues here. Faveorites survived the update!!! I'm using Home 2.7.
     
    dervari, Aug 20, 2009
    #10
  11. black snow

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Same here...........sad that you gotta hold your breath during the process, though......:eek:
     
    dhn, Aug 20, 2009
    #11
  12. black snow

    theparson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Via 1535TM
    I'm getting a message: "This item cannot be used on this device because it needs to be activated first."

    How do I do this? I received no code via e-mail.
     
    theparson, Aug 20, 2009
    #12
  13. black snow

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Have you the updated application?

    Try resetting the unit and rebooting your computer.
     
    dhn, Aug 21, 2009
    #13
  14. black snow

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    You shouldn't have this problem, the activation file you downloaded must have been corrupted. I'd recommend a redownload. The easiest way is as follows:

    1) go to "manage my device" in HOME, and remove the map from your computer.
    2) close HOME
    3) on the Tomtom, go to the maps folder, and look for the file named USA_Canada_mexico.tlv. Open the file with Notepad and search for the first occurrence of the number "835", and change it to "834". (This makes HOME think you have an outdated map on your device).
    4) Open HOME, and do "Update my ONE" to redownload the map.

    And as DHN said, make sure you have app 8.414 first.
     
    mvl, Aug 21, 2009
    #14
  15. black snow

    nicholb

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Burnsville, MN
    TomTom Model(s):
    720
    So far, my 720 updated fine.

    My parent's 720 still does not show a new map available even though they have a subscription and got the 830 map OK via it. They will be calling support.

    My girlfriend's new 730 is still showing 830 for the LMG. She'll try again tomorrow and call TT support if it still does not show (her LMG 30 days is up the 24th and I told her to wait to use it until 835).

    So, 1 out of three for my circle of TT owners.
     
    nicholb, Aug 21, 2009
    #15
  16. black snow

    theparson

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Via 1535TM
    I tried a reset. No luck.

    I restored using Home. I downloaded 835 again and tried to install. I still got the same message.

    The error message on the unit itself reads "You cannot use this map on this device: USA_Canada_and_Mexico_P-70."

    This seems to be the same problem that some 140 and 340 users experienced when they upgraded from 825 to 830. That earlier upgrade went fine for me. Unfortunately this one didn't.

    Have any 140 or 340 users been successful at upgrading to 835?
     
    theparson, Aug 21, 2009
    #16
  17. black snow

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    A call to support may be necessary: 866-486-6866.
     
    dhn, Aug 21, 2009
    #17
  18. black snow

    ccarson

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 920
    I must have serious problems. I connected this morning through Home, was offered the new map in the update list, did my Explorer backup and proceeded with the update. It installed and on checking custom POIs and favorites were still there and the unit worked fine with no need for the workarounds or hoop jumping. I'm amazed and very pleased.
     
    ccarson, Aug 21, 2009
    #18
  19. black snow

    hifilistener

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL340S, VIA 1535TM
    I have a 340S and the update didn't work. I got the same message. Time to "try" the support line.
     
    hifilistener, Aug 21, 2009
    #19
  20. black snow

    spook45

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO730T
    Had a problem with the new maps. HOME did not show the latest. Called TS and within 10 minutes he had added the new maps to my account. No hassle ... just done, and in record time. This was my first contact with TS and I am very, very pleased. I just got the 730 on the 12th of this month and was expecting all sorts of problems with TS. Did not happen. Based upon was has been said here, I will download the map after I get a hard wired connection to my network instead of a wireless connection. Should be done later today.

    I'm a happy camper so far.
     
    spook45, Aug 21, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.