Change Preferences/Switch Map on TomTom 930 after updating to North America map

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by zhong, Sep 4, 2016.

  1. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    After updating to North America map.

    How do I know which North America map is the latest updated one on my sd card ?

    Because they both show same name but doesn't show date version of it.

    In the past I download North American map to internal memory but after it fill up and I couldn't download Europe map to internal memory. I had to choose sd memory card to install to instead of internal memory because not enough space to update Europe map on internal memory .

    I have 32 gbs sd card I update and install to now.

    But now I have no idea where the maps I am seeing are when
    Change Preferences/Switch Map are
    from my internal memory or sd card memory that I am viewing ? How do I find out ?
    Which maps should I select for the most current up to date ones ?

    Trying to successfully download European map to sd card and would need to know that too
    which is most up to date to choose.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 4, 2016
    zhong, Sep 4, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. zhong

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    By rights, Home should have deleted the older map when installing the new one. I assume you now, for some reason, have both an old and new version of each on your SD card. I'll further assume your objective is to assure that you're only using the most current map, and you can't see which is which.
    If you fire up Home, and ask it to display the 'items' on the device, and select 'maps', it should show both versions of both maps with the version number in the details. Then you can use Home delete or move to your PC the older versions of each.
     
    canderson, Sep 4, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. zhong

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Are both maps USA Canada and Mexico or is one USA and Canada. Just to make sure it is really the same map.
    I used to have the former but during some map subscription cycle I was switched to the lesser one.

    There are separate drive letters when connected to the PC.
    Check on which one what map(s) are shown.
     
    Arno, Sep 4, 2016
    #3
  4. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    I tried what you say it only shows one version of North America which is 840.2562 as shown on last post.
    So what is other version ?
     

    Attached Files:

    zhong, Sep 4, 2016
    #4
  5. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    This is the version I have-

    https://www.tomtomforums.com/attachments/itemsondevice2-jpg.4831/

    Is that one the latest version ?

    Thanks
     
    zhong, Sep 4, 2016
    #5
  6. zhong

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,000
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Absolutely NOT. That version is at least four years old, maybe more.
     
    dhn, Sep 4, 2016
    #6
  7. zhong

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    If you wait an other 3 months your map will be 7 years out of date.
    ;->)

    I am still wondering what you see on the PC when you open the Internal memory and the SD card while connected (without Home).
     
    Arno, Sep 4, 2016
    #7
  8. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    I think they are same map of North America.
    This is what I see. I drive is internal memory and E drive is external sd card,-
     

    Attached Files:

    zhong, Sep 4, 2016
    #8
  9. zhong

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Yes, they do look the same but I was wondering if you see when just looking at the folders in the E:\ and the I:\ drives.
    Particularly if you see more than one map named.

    In any case, make PC copies of either drive letter so that you can restore without resorting to Home, if need be.
     
    Arno, Sep 4, 2016
    #9
  10. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    Here are the map folders in internal memory and sd card,
     

    Attached Files:

    zhong, Sep 4, 2016
    #10
  11. zhong

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That's the 940 NA map that Home shows stored on your PC (Note that it says "This item is stored on your computer"). We need to know what Home says about any NA maps stored. First tab under "Manage my GO" should be "Items on device". Select the + symbol at "Maps" and show us what is there when you then select "More info..." for any maps found there. It SHOULD say "This item is on your navigation device" for each, with a version number.
     
    canderson, Sep 4, 2016
    #11
  12. zhong

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    @canderson, 840, not 940. ;->)

    @zhong, carry on with canderson. He has the deeper knowledge between computer and device.

    If your device actually has those maps installed you should be able to determine the version by switching between them and checking them under power.
    tap bottom RH (No route planned) >
    tap version (should be 9.510 to get current maps) >
    see the map version shown.

    Change maps and see what is says for each of the four shown.
     
    Arno, Sep 4, 2016
    #12
  13. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    Ok both North America maps in Internal Memory and Memory card are the same version 840.2562

    Western and Central Europe map is version 810.1907 on Internal Memory and version 835.2419 on Memory card.

    So Western and Central Europe on my Memory card is the latest version I currently have,

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    zhong, Sep 4, 2016
    #13
  14. zhong

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Odd that somehow you have so many duplicates. In any case, let's start from the beginning now.
    I assume you have attempted to purchase either new North America and/or Europe maps, and are now having trouble with the installation of those maps? In other words, this is a full map update, not just a Mapshare, right?
     
    canderson, Sep 5, 2016
    #14
  15. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    So if I wish to only use the map folders on my sd card which are the most current I have, I can just cut and paste the map folders in my internal memory to my computer hard drive ? After I done that it should show only 2 maps latest maps on my sd card
    when I Change Preferences/Switch Map on TomTom 930 ? It will operate normally after I cut map folders from my internal memory of my TomTom 930 ?
    Thanks
     
    zhong, Sep 6, 2016
    #15
  16. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    I got an e-mail saying I could download free Europe map as shown in my attachment.

    Thanks
     

    Attached Files:

    zhong, Sep 6, 2016
    #16
  17. zhong

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Yes, but copy them to your PC just to be safe. You certainly do not need all of these duplicate folders in internal memory, and it can (well, it did in the old days when I had this) confuse Home when it does updates.
     
    canderson, Sep 6, 2016
    #17
  18. zhong

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    That's a surprise! Did they offer this to you while in conversation with Tech Support? I guess I don't know still what you were updating at the beginning of all of this. Have you recently purchased new NA and Euro maps for your 930 that you are trying to install? They sure didn't offer lifetime maps back in the 930 days like they do now.
     
    canderson, Sep 6, 2016
    #18
  19. zhong

    zhong

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T
    No this is first time I got recent email saying I could update Europe map, since I bought the gps. I didn't purchase anything.
    I choose external sd card to update since internal memory not enough memory but it still show it installing something in internal memory iwhen I update. I guess some update files can't be installed to sd card to use ?

    When I use Tom Tom Home to update my device. N.A. and Europe Map appeared so I can download and update it. However when I update them all with all boxes ticked that I could update and clicked to update. I get the error message about postal code, so I unchecked Europe map update and just update N.A. map.
    , but after installation the version that was download the N.A. map to my computer was the same version I have in my internal memory originally. There was message at the end saying that
    N.A. map was installed successfully.
    After I successfully downloaded and installed N.S. map. I just tried to update Europe map but had error message about the NL postal code in beginning and after I click ok the Europe map had error when it tried to update in the end.

    Thanks
     
    zhong, Sep 7, 2016
    #19
  20. zhong

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,883
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I'm seeing similar issues when trying to update my GO 740. It's odd ... even though my GO 740 does have Europe on the uSD card, and although I am not being offered a new Europe map for it, the server is still also having issues with the NL post code file. So far, if I close out the complaint about the NL post code by just hitting "OK", other things listed can be downloaded/installed, but as I say, I am not also trying to update Europe where the NL post code would matter. The post code update seems to have been 'pushed' by the TT server to all of us with European maps. It used to show up separately on the list of items to download and install, and could therefore be deselected.

    @dhn
    You frequent the TT support board a lot. Are others talking about the NL post code issue there as well? Seems all of us here who are updating Nav2 devices are seeing it.
     
    canderson, Sep 7, 2016
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.