Anyone else hugely disappointed with MapShare?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Internetpilot, Jan 26, 2008.

  1. Internetpilot

    Internetpilot Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2006
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ponte Vedra, Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO700 (Updated)
    Wow. That's...uh....um....uh....what was I going to say again?

    That seems to be how TomTom responded to your rather well written, specific questions. By the time they got done with the first paragraph of marketing fluff about how they want to make sure they help you as much as possible as a customer, they forgot to answer the primary questions of your message.

    That, or they fell back on the apparent company policy to keep the functions and features of Map Share as vague as possible.

    My disappointment in TomTom is really at an all-time high over this Map Share farce.
     
    Internetpilot, Feb 6, 2008
    #61
    1. Advertisements

  2. Internetpilot

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    That's why I prefaced that post with "Take this as you want..." :) It sorta answers it - but not specific enough for my liking... But other than grabbing one of them by the scruff of the neck and shaking an answer out of them - I think that this is the best we're going to get. They likely have a "script" that they use to answer these types of questions.
     
    SShadow, Feb 6, 2008
    #62
    1. Advertisements

  3. Internetpilot

    martinp13

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510
    Is anyone else still unable to download MapShare corrections for no apparent reason? I have over 13000 "waiting" but "no corrections available" on the Update screen.
     
    martinp13, Feb 7, 2008
    #63
  4. Internetpilot

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I have the green box showing how many mapshare changes I'm using. What's humorous about this is that the number goes DOWN with each additional mapshare dl from TomTom.

    Initially it was 11 thousand plus. Now, it's down to 2 thousand plus.

    I'm petrified that if I keep downloading changes, I'm gonna get a knock on my door from some guy with a tomtom badge saying that I owe TomTom 5 or 6 thousand changes and to pay up!! :D :D
     
    dhn, Feb 7, 2008
    #64
  5. Internetpilot

    Yooshaw

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    TomTom Model(s):
    910

    It's things like this that make me mad at Tom Tom. While I've not experienced it going down, it would make me mad that it was. Tom Tom needs to disclose what is changed with each mapshare update - that way I at least know what is changing, and will feel I'm getting something from the service, rather than the way it is now where we have no clue what was updated. :mad:
     
    Yooshaw, Feb 7, 2008
    #65
  6. Internetpilot

    martinp13

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510
    I called TomTom today and got a human being within a minute. Then we spent over an hour trying to figure out why I wasn't getting MapShare corrections. For some reason, my HOME (2.2.1.58) doesn't give me a Download MapShare Corrections button on the 1st page (or anywhere), and they don't know why.

    There will probably be another HOME version this weekend, regardless.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2008
    martinp13, Feb 9, 2008
    #66
  7. Internetpilot

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    The only time I get a button that mentions MapShare, and it's not called Download Mapshare, is when my GPS isn't hooked up to my PC and I start TTHome. Once I connect my GPS to the PC, the button disappears.
    I'm assuming that it was because I have MapShare set up on my TTHome.
     
    SShadow, Feb 9, 2008
    #67
  8. Internetpilot

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Same here.......I've gotten mapshare updates the last couple of days, ok, (using .58 Home the last day); it's the poi updates I haven't gotten for about a week........others have reported the same thing.
     
    dhn, Feb 9, 2008
    #68
  9. Internetpilot

    geocacher

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Somewhere, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 910
    I have not had any problems with the updates. Everytime I log on, I get updates. I do not know what they are or where. Is there a way to find out what changes were made?
     
    geocacher, Feb 9, 2008
    #69
  10. Internetpilot

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    But are the POI updates still separate from MapShare updates? Or are they all rolled into one? Or is the MapShare updates ONLY POI updates? (Which in that case, MapShare should be renamed to POIShare!)
    If the POI and MapShare updates are still separate - I've not gotten a POI update since the TTHome update of .33...
     
    SShadow, Feb 9, 2008
    #70
  11. Internetpilot

    martinp13

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510
    Although I didn't get any good resolution today on my MapShare problem, I did learn some information.

    I had to call back this morning to get bumped up to the next level of support. Unfortunately he told me that some people are experiencing the same issue I am with MapShare (ie, not get ANY updates), and that they don't know what the problem is. According to him, "TomTom UK" is working on the software, and expects to have a fix by next Monday (Anyone believe that? Me neither).
     
    martinp13, Feb 11, 2008
    #71
  12. Internetpilot

    Yooshaw

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    TomTom Model(s):
    910
    This is why TomTom drives me crazy. It seems they spend 10 minutes testing their software before sending it out to the masses. They need to spend more time testing before releasing their software to find all the bugs. And it not just limited to home, they seem to have bugs with the firmware as well. Sigh...
     
    Yooshaw, Feb 11, 2008
    #72
  13. Internetpilot

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    The latest answer from TomTom

    Discussion Thread
    Response (ST Tracey) 02/13/2008 06:22 PM
    Dear SShadow,

    Thank you for contacting TomTom regarding the Map Share feature. It is our goal to provide you with an exceptional customer experience. After reviewing the information you have provided us, it may be worth contacting one of our Support Specialists via our toll free support number shown below for further assistance. By speaking with you directly, that may help us determine the best possible solution. Please reference to incident number 080206-000852 when calling.

    If you have any further questions or comments, please email or call us at 866-486-6866 Monday through Friday, 8:30 AM until 7:00 PM EST. Thanks again for writing. At TomTom we believe in showing you the way the easy way.

    With Best Regards,
    Tracey and The TomTom Customer Support Team

    Customer (SShadow) 02/11/2008 11:19 PM
    Still waiting for an update on this... Thanks!

    Customer (SShadow) 02/06/2008 09:33 PM
    So, what you are telling me is that if I make a correction to add a missing road, and share it through mapshare, once it is "verified" by TomTom, that new road will definitely show up in a future MapShare update WITHOUT buying a new map?
    Or are you saying that it will appear in a new map version of the same series of maps (IE my current version is 7.10.1575 and when 7.10.1600 is released my road will be in that version of the map - as long as the road was verified prior to release?)
    The reason why I ask this is because someone on the Forums was told by a 3rd Tier support person from TomTom (and I quote):
    "ACcording to a TT Level 3 tech i spoke w/ Mapshare does not make changes to the Geometry of your map. Therefore if you add a road or move a road it will not show up in your map, TT uses this data to update their maps that they sell to you."
    There is a lot of misinformation here, and I would really appreciate it being cleared up. There is a lot of dissention starting on some of the TomTom forums about different things (very inaccurate routing, making maps device specific, not knowing what MapShare updates we're getting, and how exactly MapShare is actually working. Many people are simply calling it POIShare now, because that's all it seems we're getting - since we're not getting a run down of what updates we're actually getting.)
     
    SShadow, Feb 14, 2008
    #73
  14. Internetpilot

    jwarner191

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    map missing streets

    I just downloaded a new USA map and there are MANY streets that are visible on the map but you can't navigate them. They are seen as white with dotted pink lines. Is there something wrong with this map? The older map was fine. Can this be fixed? Someone help!
     
    jwarner191, Feb 16, 2008
    #74
  15. Internetpilot

    SShadow

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL-S
    What map & version did you buy?
    I'm not sure what that pink road means... I don't think I've ever seen that.
     
    SShadow, Feb 16, 2008
    #75
  16. Internetpilot

    martinp13

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510
    Pink dotted roads are private roads. According to TomTom's database, the general public can't use them.

    I got frustrated Wed or Thurs and reloaded my 710 maps. Still nothing with MapShare. Fri evening, I tried again and the TomTom said it needed to redownload the maps and MapShare updates. I don't know if they fixed something or reloading the maps did it. It took 1 hr 45 min to redownload the maps, but I now have all 13000+ corrections. My TTHOME still is at 2.2.1.58.
     
    martinp13, Feb 17, 2008
    #76
  17. Internetpilot

    TTT103

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    I have my TT Mapshare set to use corrections made by myself, as well as those verified by TomTom. I'm a little concerned to check (include) the other four categories, as I don't want to see my map turned into a mess. Should I be concerned, or am I missing out on a conisderable amount of corrections?
     
    TTT103, Feb 17, 2008
    #77
  18. Internetpilot

    kichu1979

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    5
    I get everything and I am yet to see a mess on the map. I would not worry about it that much. For example for Western and Central Europe map the difference between verified (10000 something) and all corrections (50000 something) was singnificant.
     
    kichu1979, Feb 17, 2008
    #78
  19. Internetpilot

    martinp13

    Joined:
    May 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fort Worth, TX
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 510
    TTT103: if your map became a "mess", you could always remove all corrections, reset your options, and accept only "verified" changes. I wouldn't worry about it.
     
    martinp13, Feb 17, 2008
    #79
  20. Internetpilot

    TTT103

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Thanks for the advice. I didn't realize that you could undo the changes. I'm very new at all of this. :rolleyes:
     
    TTT103, Feb 17, 2008
    #80
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.