XL340S Firmware and map update went fine

I've had my XL340S for a week, and updated the firmware and map last night. I'd already deleted all the voices except Susan and Dave to be sure I had enough space for the updates.

Downloading the new map took about 38 minutes. Loading it into the unit took around 1+ hours.

This is my first GPS so I've never done any of this before, but everything went fine, no problems.

New updates:
firmware: 9.022.457667.2
map: v840.2568

Good news!

Make sure you make an Explorer, not Home, backup of your unit's contents.

I've had my XL340S for two days. Both Dave & Susan do not speak, all of the other voices seem OK. My unit itself shows that the voices are installed on it. When I try to operate it using TomTomHome on my computer these two voices are not there.
I did save everthing originally using Explorer and I also,saved my new map download seperately.
I am using Win 7, maybe this is my problem? When I plug it into my computer, I get a Win7 screen that asks me if i want to repair my memory in the unit.
Any advice?
Thanks, Dave

You cannot select and use a computer voice using Home's emulator (Operate my Unit). They can only be selected on the unit itself.

Since you do have an Explorer backup (good person!!), you may want to format the drive (not quickformat) and use Explorer to copy your backup onto the unit again

Last edited:
Do you have another PC available to use that isn't running Windows 7?

The reason I ask is we seem to be seeing far more devices with faults during updates to the Navcore/ map files with people at the moment, not all of them have been reporting the computer OS but the sudden increase in bricked devices seems more than a coincidence to me with the recent release of the latest version of Windows.