Wrong language being displayed.

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Webster01, Mar 5, 2019.

  1. Webster01

    Webster01

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl30
    Suddenly the TomTom website is displaying in French rather than my native tongue English. Can anyone help me to get it back to English
     
    Webster01, Mar 5, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Webster01

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,728
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    canderson, Mar 5, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Webster01

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Webster01 is right.
    Often when looking for something on TomTom's site a popup will say ~you are on a UK site would you like to switch to Canada, If agreed to in the affirmative the site will display the maple leaf and switch to French only.
    There are other Canadian sites where one can simply change /fr_ca/ to /en_ca/.
     
    Arno, Mar 5, 2019
    #3
  4. Webster01

    Webster01

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl30
    Interesting...perhaps TomTom needs to address this issue. If one is attempting to make a purchase from the site
    one has to switch to the Canadian version and being uni lingual English this would then become difficult. Thanks for your reply Arno.
     
    Webster01, Mar 5, 2019
    #4
  5. Webster01

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,728
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    If it switched automatically, it MAY have done so based upon your IP address at the time, rightly or wrongly.
    Arno, do you know if there's any truth to that?
     
    canderson, Mar 6, 2019
    #5
  6. Webster01

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    No idea.
    The French instances only seem to happen when Googling for something TomTom related and opening a web page that asks if one wants a Canadian site instead.

    Also had that several years ago when we were testing NAV2 legalese.
     
    Arno, Mar 6, 2019
    #6
  7. Webster01

    Webster01

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    xl30
    FYI when I came to the web page it was displaying in English(UK) but if I wanted to purchase anything I would have to switch to the site for Canada. I then did switch and it came up French. If you are English speaking only its makes it hard to deal with TomTom if you must us the English(US) site I would like to see it fixed so you can choose a language preference for Canada.
     
    Webster01, Mar 6, 2019
    #7
  8. Webster01

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,929
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Click the Canada flag on the screen showing French and at the bottom right is a link for English Canada. Click that to switch.
     
    dhn, Mar 6, 2019
    #8
  9. Webster01

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    [FF 64.0.2] Where?

    Screen Shot 03-06-19 at 09.39 AM.JPG Screen Shot 03-06-19 at 09.37 AM 001.JPG Screen Shot 03-06-19 at 09.37 AM.JPG
     
    Arno, Mar 6, 2019
    #9
  10. Webster01

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,728
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    ALL the way at the bottom of the tomtom.com{whichever} screen.
     
    canderson, Mar 7, 2019
    #10
  11. Webster01

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    First picture is all the way to the bottom.
    Remember I started with TomTom through Google. It got to a UK page. When clicking on an item with a price it points out that it is a UK page and asks if I want to use a Canadian page. Clicking the Canadian I get French with the ONLY way out is changing the URL from fr to en.

    Yes, 7 (!!!) screens down I can click to display other countries. Who in his right mind, ending up on a foreign language page, will keep on going down for 7 screens to see if it changes.
    Well, once clicking on that change, US English is offered, but in FRENCH.
    Screen Shot 03-07-19 at 08.19 AM.JPG

    I have no problem with the language but this is about a poor web link which may send potential customers packing.
     
    Arno, Mar 7, 2019
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.