Why don't businesses supply POIs of their locations?

Is this a dumb question? I was looking for a Shell station POI and it occurred to me (and probably anyone with a gps) that it would probably be in the best interest of businesses to supply poi files to consumers. I have a Shell card and try to use Shell when I can so that all of our gas expenses are in one bill. I think I should be able to go to the Shell web site and get a file like that. Do any businesses offer POI files?
Sorry if I'm not seeing the big picture. I'm a newbie.
Chris

I hope to see this in the near future. There are some business that offer POI downloads from their website! You can try contacting Shell to request this. Hopefully they can get started right away.

I hope it does become common in the future. I know a lot of people I work with got GPS's for Christmas, so hopefully the increased popularity will lead to this. Especially for restaurants and gas stations.

Sure thing. If you get a contact email or something, I can also help out by writing to them too.

Hmmm. Maybe I can come up with some sort of form letter we can all use. I'll see what I can do.

Chris

PS - I did write to Shell. I'll keep you posted.

Hmmm. Maybe I can come up with some sort of form letter we can all use. I'll see what I can do.

Chris

PS - I did write to Shell. I'll keep you posted.

That is definitely a good idea. The more we can bug businesses to make their locations as a downloadable POI file it just might be more common place, not to mention its better for them especially the loyal customers.

Just got a call back from Payless Shoes. They will not release this info. Most feel competitors could use it against them. They basically said if I want it for the reasons I have stated, then they don't care of I do the work via their website, but they aren't going to give up the info.

Well that's too bad. Don't they want customers to find them?