TT One takes me on toll roads even when I asked not to

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by bluewomble88, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. bluewomble88

    bluewomble88

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I travelled from Scotland to South London yesterday and the unit originally routed me through the M6 toll but then asked if I'd like to avoid toll charges. I selected "yes" and it successfully found an alternative. However, when I pulled up at a service station for a break on 2 occasions before the toll I switched it off as I took it inside with me. When I got back to the car I noticed it had rewritten the route to include the toll (i.e. the fastest route). Is this a known bug?
     
    bluewomble88, Jan 3, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bluewomble88

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I believe that after a certain amount of time (some hours), the unit replans a route for the (now) fastest route.

    If the planning preference was set to ASk about toll roads instead of always AVOID toll roads, it may be a glitch that it didn't 'remember' your previous request to avoid.

    Not sure.........just surmising here.
     
    dhn, Jan 3, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bluewomble88

    bluewomble88

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is set to ask about toll roads and I selected to avoid them. I'm confused.
     
    bluewomble88, Jan 3, 2010
    #3
  4. bluewomble88

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I have since been reminded by another moderator (thanks, Mike!) that what you are experiencing is indeed a bug where, after doing the steps you did, it 'fogets' you said to avoid toll roads and sends you down them anyway as it recalculates the route.

    The bug is known by TomTom and hopefully an updated application will rectify the problem.
     
    dhn, Jan 3, 2010
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.