Takes forever to startup, gets lost,been waiting for gps for an hour !

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by lefty08, Mar 6, 2018.

  1. lefty08

    lefty08

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    via280
    hi, new here had my 280 for a couple of years and now it seem to be suffering from old age. it wont hook up to the computer, it gets lost easily takes forever to start 99% of the time, currently trying to update my lifetime maps,,9 still waitng for gps at presen) tand spent a lifetime wasting time i will never get back. seriously considering the use of a 2 pound hammer at present . any one got any better ideas ?? Thanks lefty08
     
    lefty08, Mar 6, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. lefty08

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,741
    Likes Received:
    414
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    When last did you get a gpsfix file? Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds.
     
    dhn, Mar 6, 2018
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. lefty08

    lefty08

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    via280
    Thanks DHN. worked a treat. I havent tried uploading new maps yet,so I still dont know if it will talk to the computer. May be next week. In the meantime it appears to be working much faaster than ever and doesnt go looking for "where am I " when it first turns on. Ta. regards
    Lefty08
     
    lefty08, Mar 8, 2018
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.