TT GO 720- continuous route recalculating

TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
I have been using a GO 720 since 2007. Yesterday during a trip it had a lot of problems and was recalculating the route every 10 seconds while I was driving on a highway. The arrow was randomly out of the road and the name of the road kept changing or being indicated as “nameless road” . I tried switching it on and off and also resetting to no avail.
Every now and then - and only for a few seconds - it worked correctly and then went back to recalculating the route again and again. However the status bar maintained the correct time of arrival .
I would like to know if others have had this problem and how to fix it. Thanks for any help.

Try using Explorer to delete anything in the ephem folder on the unit and then use the reset hole on the bottom. See if that helps.

Thank you for your reply; I did and after lunch I will drive to see the result. I'm also following the other thread which tells the same problem.

A new gpsquickfix file is now available to replace the faulty one from yesterday. Use Home.

To all mods -- before we recommend further the immediate removal of the ephem data as we have been doing ..

TomTom would like one or more of our users to trap that data for analysis. While we can recommend they pull the file out of the trash can on their PC, it will be easier if we can get users to make a copy of this file first.

So let's see if we can encourage a couple of users to post their packedephemeris.ee files for us to send back. Then we can have the user go ahead and delete it.

I just recovered the folder related to the... culprit quickfix of June 30th. How/where should I post it or send it?

Is there some confusion about what file to attach, canderson? In the other thread, mvl said this:

I have not seen anyone report any problems after installing the Sunday quickgpsfix udpate (version 1341611205).