TT GO 720- continuous route recalculating


Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
15
Location
Perugia - Italy
TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
I have been using a GO 720 since 2007. Yesterday during a trip it had a lot of problems and was recalculating the route every 10 seconds while I was driving on a highway. The arrow was randomly out of the road and the name of the road kept changing or being indicated as “nameless road” . I tried switching it on and off and also resetting to no avail.
Every now and then - and only for a few seconds - it worked correctly and then went back to recalculating the route again and again. However the status bar maintained the correct time of arrival .
I would like to know if others have had this problem and how to fix it. Thanks for any help.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Try using Explorer to delete anything in the ephem folder on the unit and then use the reset hole on the bottom. See if that helps.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
15
Location
Perugia - Italy
TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
Thank you for your reply; I did and after lunch I will drive to see the result. I'm also following the other thread which tells the same problem.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
A new gpsquickfix file is now available to replace the faulty one from yesterday. Use Home.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
To all mods -- before we recommend further the immediate removal of the ephem data as we have been doing ..

TomTom would like one or more of our users to trap that data for analysis. While we can recommend they pull the file out of the trash can on their PC, it will be easier if we can get users to make a copy of this file first.

So let's see if we can encourage a couple of users to post their packedephemeris.ee files for us to send back. Then we can have the user go ahead and delete it.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
15
Location
Perugia - Italy
TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
I just recovered the folder related to the... culprit quickfix of June 30th. How/where should I post it or send it?
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Is there some confusion about what file to attach, canderson? In the other thread, mvl said this:

I have not seen anyone report any problems after installing the Sunday quickgpsfix udpate (version 1341611205).

If anyone still has any problems after the Sunday update, we have arranged a direct contact with TT's programmers. If you still have problems, they have asked to post:
1) your device serial number
2) attach your quickgpsfix file (the \ephem\packedephemeris.ee file on the Tomtom drive)

We can forward it to the programmers for troubleshooting.
That seems to say that if a user has trouble with the NEW gps file, then the user should post that file here, not the file that seemed to have caused the problem.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
@dhn
To the contrary,

"One of the things I'd like to have from people with this problem is copies of the file packedephemeris.ee in the ephem folder. Has anyone happen to not have kept a copy of that file from an affected device?"

@gfds
Yes, I would be very happy to pass it along. Can you create a ZIP file from it and attach it here to your message? I cannot recall if you need 10 posts in this forum to do that. If so, we will work something else out.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
@gfds
The folks back in NL would also like to have the meta files that came with it...
ee_meta.tlv
ee_meta.txt

You may not have enough posts here to attach. If not, I have left you my email address in a PM so that you can send them directly.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Yeah, sorry canderson. I was unclear. In fact, as you since may have noticed, I have just added my own faulty (I guess) files to a post in the other forum.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I wonder what has become of the OP?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
540
Location
Nova Scotia in Summer Florida in Winter
TomTom Model(s)
Go-920 App 9.465 Map N A 895.4438 C&W Europe 8.30 Magellan Explorist 710
I'm sorry I formatted my internal memory because in my case it wasn't just routing off to the side of the Hwy , and when we were in town it had us traveling way off with no streets even in the old part of town, and when we were going along the river the water was on the wrong side of the road and it kept wanting us to turn left when the street was on the right and river on our left :roll:
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
15
Location
Perugia - Italy
TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
haha... I wanted to be short describing my problem on the original post but I had exactly the same load of errors.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
@gfds
Do you have those files?
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
@gfds
Do you have those files?
I sent them by email. Do I have to make a resend?
I guess so. Did I make a mistake in my PM about my email address? I will send you another PM. Let me know for certain that you received the PM with the address. It will be @comcast.net

Edit: If your registered email address here is good, you should have also just received an email from me at that account.
 
Joined
Jul 2, 2012
Messages
15
Location
Perugia - Italy
TomTom Model(s)
GO 720
Yes my address is good and I have received you mail and replied to it. Have also resent the files.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top