GO 720 format

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by MikeyJR, Mar 27, 2018.

  1. MikeyJR

    MikeyJR

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Hello, I have a GO720 with Europe and UK maps, which is no longer supported. i recently updated mapshare corrections and gps fix, and have since lost sound. I tried reset, no luck, reinstalled Tomtom home, again no sound. So..... I decided to start a restore, format........forgetting to back up o_O. I cancelled format as soon as I realised, but, now I get message that device needs to be formatted before I can operate it. It wont connct to Home, but does appear on pc as F: drive. If I continue with format, presumably I wipe everything,and have no backup to reinstall. . Help would be much appreciated !
    Thanks
    Mike
     
    MikeyJR, Mar 27, 2018
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. MikeyJR

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,616
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Sorry but without a backup there isn't much that can be done. Especially the map. Try to remember if you ever did update the map in the past. Perhaps there is a copy on your computer.
     
    dhn, Mar 27, 2018
    #2
    MikeyJR likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. MikeyJR

    MikeyJR

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Thanks, unfortunately I have no back up on my current pc. I tried a simple data recovery program which identified files on my device, I may have to subscribe to get full version, even then I guess files may have been lost or corrupted during first few seconds of format
     
    MikeyJR, Mar 27, 2018
    #3
  4. MikeyJR

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,616
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    See if you have anything here on your computer:

    c:\user\My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete\map
     
    dhn, Mar 27, 2018
    #4
  5. MikeyJR

    MikeyJR

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    upload_2018-3-27_19-36-34.png


    Unfortunately, nothing at that address. Update, I did a quick format ( supposed to leave files intact ? ) which got me connected back to Home. I can now see that I have no maps on device. I guess getting a replacement set is no longer an option ?
     
    MikeyJR, Mar 27, 2018
    #5
  6. MikeyJR

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,616
    Likes Received:
    403
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    When you go to the 'Install from Computer' tab, what is listed there?
     
    dhn, Mar 27, 2018
    #6
  7. MikeyJR

    MikeyJR

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    Only safety cameras I'm afraid
     
    MikeyJR, Mar 27, 2018
    #7
  8. MikeyJR

    MikeyJR

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 720
    will catch up tomorrow, thanks :)
     
    MikeyJR, Mar 27, 2018
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.