Transferring data between models

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by jonel, Apr 26, 2019.

  1. jonel

    jonel

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    HOME 2 VIA 52
    Hi All,
    My old Home 2 finally decided it wouldn't work for me anymore so I've decided to purchase a VIA 52. I haven't got it yet but I was wondering if I could use the old map settings file on the new device to save me from retyping all my destinations.

    Thanks
     
    jonel, Apr 26, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jonel

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,929
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Afraid not. The user has no access to the file system on the newer devices.
     
    dhn, Apr 26, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jonel

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,302
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    If the old one is still alive, can you save them, one by one, as individual POIs in an .ov2 folder.
     
    Arno, Apr 26, 2019
    #3
  4. jonel

    jonel

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    HOME 2 VIA 52
    Thanks, I thought perhaps not. So the VIA 52 uses a different format of file to that in the older version.
     
    jonel, Apr 26, 2019
    #4
  5. jonel

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,929
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You can import .ov2 files by logging into MyDrive (not MyDriveConnect) and then syncing with your device by logging into MyDrive on the device. But associated .bmps you might have had on the old device will not import.
     
    dhn, Apr 26, 2019
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.