Toyota Yaris 2008 Tom Tom not recognised by Home

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by Fek08, Mar 3, 2020.

  1. Fek08

    Fek08

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS400/410
    Hello,

    New to Forum, have looked but could not see this specific issue.

    Just acquired a 2008 Yaris with detachable TomTom - a TNS400/410? no model number on the unit.

    Its proving slow to acquire satellites and several functions we'd like to change need to be accessed via Home on a PC.

    Tried downloading from Tom Tom and kept tripping, so used the original disc and loaded Home onto PC. Everything started ok, then plugged in TT unit and the computer recognises it - but not Home. No matter what we do, Home continues to read No Device. If Home is off, connecting the unit doesnt open it. If open, Home doesnt recognise the unit - though the computer does.

    Went via loading My Drive - to get message unit no longer supported.

    Not all that bothered about map updates etc, but we would like to access the unit to set it up etc.

    Any advice, much appreciated.
     
    Fek08, Mar 3, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Fek08

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    See here:

     
    dhn, Mar 3, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Fek08

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,010
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No issue there ...
    If it's a TNS400, it's either going to start with N1 or N2, and if it's a TNS410, it's going to start with DA. All are Nav2 devices.

    The bigger question is why Home doesn't recognize the device.

    @Fek08, your disc will contain a VERY old and unsupported version of Home by now. You should have this one >> https://uk.support.tomtom.com/app/getstarted/p/2075
    Check that download again. It shouldn't be 'tripping' you up. Just downloaded it here again now to check, and all went well.
    Once you have that recent copy of Home, let's see what happens. If the PC still sees the TNS400 as an external storage device, but Home doesn't see it, we can work that out, too.
    Which OS are you running?
     
    canderson, Mar 3, 2020
    #3
  4. Fek08

    Fek08

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS400/410
    Thank you both - much appreciated.

    Unit away in car at moment but will check model once back here.

    Will give downloading newer Home version a try and report back - again thank you.
     
    Fek08, Mar 4, 2020
    #4
  5. Fek08

    Fek08

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS400/410
    Missed last bit! Its Windows 7 Professional.
     
    Fek08, Mar 4, 2020
    #5
  6. Fek08

    Fek08

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS400/410
    Ok, downloaded to PC. Plugged unit in - it begins N1 so is the 400.

    My drive opened to tell me not supported 9 loaded earlier so need to delete ) clicked open new Home and bingo! Picked up device just fine. Performed back up and updates - all seems to be working fine. We will see how goes once back in the car, but looking good thus far.

    Thank you for the help - very much appreciated.
     
    Fek08, Mar 4, 2020
    #6
  7. Fek08

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    CAUTION

    If you made the back up with HOME, make another one from the device directly to the PC.

    HOME over writes the last back up with the next and if that is corrupted you can always refer to the direct back up.
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2020
    Arno, Mar 4, 2020
    #7
  8. Fek08

    Fek08

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS400/410

    Many thanks.
     
    Fek08, Mar 5, 2020
    #8
  9. Fek08

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    83
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Corrected my post; corrected, as typed, was of course supposed to be corrupted.
     
    Arno, Mar 5, 2020
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.