TomTom Route Planner Beta

TomTom Model(s)
ONE 125
I'm a programmer myself, so I didn't really hesitate when I fired up TTHome and it asked if I wanted to upgrade to a beta version. I didn't see anything different at first glance, except for a new option: "Plan a Route". The option also shows up when you click the System Tray icon.

It pulled up routes.tomtom.com, with the following blurb:
Route Planner
TomTom's online Route Planner is the best way to plan your trip online. It uses TomTom's expertise in navigation and smart mapping to give you the best information you need to plan ahead.

Live Traffic info
The traffic information shown on the Route Planner is live, so you can decide when to leave your home or office.

Smart routing
The Route Planner calculates your routes based on the real average speeds measured on roads. This will always provide you with the smartest route hour-by-hour, day-by-day, saving you time, money and fuel.

Most accurate map
The map is refreshed every day thanks to our Map ShareTM technology. This means that new changes on the roads spotted by members of the TomTom map community are taken into account when calculating your route.​

Sounds interesting! So I hit the "Register for Beta" link. But I'm not planning my routes yet:
Dear (me),

Thanks for registering to be part of the Beta programme of the TomTom Route Planner. Your registration has been sent to TomTom and you will be put on the list to try the Route Planner.

It is currently only open to a select group and it's great that you want to join. When it is your turn to try it out we will send you an invitation email. This is a new product introduction and so it is only possible to enter the Beta programme once you have received this email from TomTom. We contact you soon for your chance to try it out.

All the best,

The TomTom Team​