TomTom One N14644 - Help Canada Maps


Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
N14644
Found out I need to drive to Canada Wednesday, trying to download the Canada maps and having no luck, I continually receive an error message that TomTom does not recognize my zip code when trying the purchase on the TomTom site.

PLEASE HELP.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,692
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Welcome to TomTomForums.
We are a peer-to-peer group. We are not TomTom.

United States
866 486 6866

Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EDT
Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. EDT
 
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
N14644
Welcome to TomTomForums.
We are a peer-to-peer group. We are not TomTom.

United States
866 486 6866

Monday - Friday: 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. EDT
Saturday: 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. EDT
Thank you for the reply, my plan was to call TomTom tomorrow or try to get a car with navigation when the rental agencies open tomorrow, was just hoping that maybe someone had run into this before and had the answer tonight.
 

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,692
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
Maybe someone on the West coast sees your post, they are 3 hours behind.
Going to Montreal or Toronto?

Have you put your destination into Google maps, clicked Directions and added your starting location?
 
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
N14644
Going to Saguenay QC, I live in central New Hampshire, typically i would fly but the drive to Saguenay is only eight hours, compared with a three hour drive to Boston plus tight connections in both Toronto and Montreal

I did print out the mapquest directions but the time frame is tight, I do not speak french and I feel more comfortable with a GPS
 
Last edited:

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,181
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Make the call to CS that Arno provided in this thread. Some people have had success putting GENERAL DELIVERY in the address field.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Arno

Moderator
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
3,692
Location
Toronto - Pickering, ON
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/ca.png" alt="Canada" /> Canada
TomTom Model(s)
930; GO 620; Start 63
This would be the Google route from about I-89 and I-91.
From Lebanon, NH to Saguenay, QC it takes about 6h 30 min.

Is your current map USA only? Most of the US maps also have Canada on them.

You are not supplying a proper model number. Do you use the HOME or MyDrive software to update your device?
Test your device if it can go to Saguenay.
Use "Drive to City Center" (or proper destination).
You will now see NH somewhere at the right hand top.
Tap it and use the UP arrow to see if Canada shows above Colorado.
If yes, tap it, and enter the destination as always and you are ready to go.

Note:
Towards Quebec City and north of there road signs may (will) become unilingual French. Should not be a problem as, like in the States now, almost all are symbols.
Compass directions Nord/Est/Sud/Ouest are pretty apparent when you sound them out.
 
Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
N14644
Thank you again for your help Arno and dhn. I contacted customer service this morning, I had been trying to update using the downloaded tomtom home utility, for whatever reason my device will only update through tomtom.com. Customer Service was very helpful and walked me through the update.

I will be driving from Concord nh, up 93, to 91, over the border, 55, to 20 to 175


You are correct, I was providing an incomplete model number, the device did not have Canadian maps, indeed I had to uninstall the US maps and then reinstall an eastern US/Canada package.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,357
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I don't think that TomTom advertises their Concord location for support these days, but AFAIK, they're still over on 150 Baker Ave.

"Most" of the action is in Burlington.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 19, 2015
Messages
5
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/us.png" alt="United States" /> United States
TomTom Model(s)
N14644
Not aware of a baker ave in concord nh, google informs me of a baker ave former tomtom location in concord ma

The original settlers of new england were not terribly original when naming their towns, in full disclosure I actually live in nottingham nh, a town with more cows than people just east of concord and another town with duplicates in both new england and england
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,357
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
Yes, Concord, Mass.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top