TomTom One memory card

Discussion in 'Hardware and Peripherals' started by John P, Dec 12, 2016.

  1. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    I have a tomtom one with a 2gb sd memory card. What is the maxim gb I can use in my tomtom one ??.
     
    John P, Dec 12, 2016
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. John P

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,486
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Supposedly a 4 gb sd (not sdhc) card if you can find one.

    That said, I suspect your model is one of the EOL (End of Life) models that TomTom will no longer support with map or any other updates.

    Here is a partial list (check your serial number:

    GO 300 (M1)
    GO 500 (M3)
    GO 510 / GO 710 (V5)
    GO 520 (M2/M4)
    GO 530 (J1/J2)
    ONE 3rd Edition (Y1/Y3/Y5/Y8)
    GO 715 (M7)
    GO 730 (J3)
    GO 750 (W8)
    GO CLASSIC (B1)
    ONE 1st Edition (G1/G2)
    ONE 2nd Edition (E1/Z1/Z2/Z3)
    GO 550 LIVE (W3)
    ONE XL HD TRAFFIC (F3)
    ONE 125 (PA/PE/PH/PN/PV/PP)
    START (XA/XC)
    XL 30 Series (RH/RO/RQ)
    XL IQ Routes ² / XL Classic (GG)
    GO 540 (WT)
    ONE XL (L2/L3/L4/L7/L9)
    ONE 30 Series / ONE 125 (PB)
    ONE XL (L1)
    ONE 3rd Edition (Y4, Y2, Y7)
    ONE 2nd Edition (E2)
    XL IQR2 / XL Classic / XL 250 (GH)
    XL 30 Series / XL 325 (RB, RM)
     
    dhn, Dec 12, 2016
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Thank you dhn for your reply. The reason I keep my tomtom one is that I loaded a third party softweare that
    shows me my altitude When I travel. My tomtom via1500 cannot do this. Maybe at a later date there will
    be a software change that will allow an altitude reading.
     
    John P, Dec 12, 2016
    #3
  4. John P

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,170
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    If your ONE is using firmware of a version at least as high as 8.302 (depending upon WHICH of the many ONE units, you could/should be at 9.0XX somewhere), then you will be able to successfully read/write from a 4GB or perhaps even higher GB card (have never had occasion to stuff more than 4GB into one).
     
    canderson, Dec 12, 2016
    #4
  5. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Thank all of you for your replies. Now another question Does anyone know where I can find
    a 4 gb sd card all I have been able to find is 4 gb sdhc
     
    John P, Dec 13, 2016
    #5
  6. John P

    - et - Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    482
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    TomTom Model(s):
    XXL 540, GO Live 1535
    If you happen to find a source, you might help a number of other users if you post that source here. I do not need one myself, so I have not done more than a casual search myself, but I know of no one who has been successful in finding a 2+GB SD card in the last several years.

    - Tom -
     
    - et -, Dec 14, 2016
    #6
  7. John P

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    Arno, Dec 14, 2016
    #7
  8. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    John P, Dec 14, 2016
    #8
  9. John P

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    It does say Out-of-Stock, shipping or pick-up not available.
    Maybe he got the last one.
     
    Arno, Dec 14, 2016
    #9
  10. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Sorry guys, Wal-mart said I got the last one. Wal-mart does not know when they will restock.
     
    John P, Dec 14, 2016
    #10
  11. John P

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,170
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    They were rarer than 2GB from the get-go since technically, there wasn't quite a real spec for 4GB in the original SD (not SDHC) format. And now there are few devices being updated with higher capacity cards since everything has shifted to micro SD.
    Hope you have success with the one you were able to snag!
     
    canderson, Dec 14, 2016
    #11
  12. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Hello WD40. I got my 4gb sd card and copied the files from my 2 gb card to the 4 gb sd card and as usual Murphy's law
    is alive and well in my house. It doesn't work. I get a screen with a picture of a tomtom one and a sd card with a big red X
    off to the side. So I gather that my operating system is not compatible with the 4 gb card. On the screen that shows the battery charge
    and the number of satellites I show version 7.903.. Is there anything else that I can do to do to try to make the 4gb card work ??
     
    John P, Dec 17, 2016
    #12
  13. John P

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,486
    Likes Received:
    398
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    720; 1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Have you copied EVERYTHING onto the sd card before inserting the card into the device? You would need to.
     
    dhn, Dec 17, 2016
    #13
  14. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Hi Guys, I compared every file on the 4gb card with the files on my 2gb card. There are 47 files on each. card. I also checked the
    file names and how many kbs in each file. I cannot find anything different on the cards. this has me stumped. any ideas ??.
     
    John P, Dec 17, 2016
    #14
  15. John P

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    Silly question but did you make a full format of the new card and check whether HOME recognised it as a card before you copied the data?
     
    Arno, Dec 17, 2016
    #15
  16. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Good point. Never gave it a thought ok I will get back with you all soon.
     
    John P, Dec 17, 2016
    #16
  17. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Ok Arno I did a full format and then reloaded the 2gb files onto the 4gb card. No dice. Lets think about this for a while.
    I have to go outside and shovel snow so I can get out tomorrow. Hate the stuff. Thank you for the idea. I never gave it a thought.
     
    John P, Dec 17, 2016
    #17
  18. John P

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,170
    Likes Received:
    146
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    At version 7.903, it isn't going to work. As I mentioned earlier,
    Prior to that firmware version, a TomTom unit didn't work properly with anything bigger than 2GB.
    So we need to get your firmware up to date, if possible, before that card can be read.
    If you'll provide the first two characters of your serial number, we'll look it up and see what we can do about updates. Home should have handled it already if an update was available, but if not, we have 'other' measures!
     
    canderson, Dec 18, 2016
    #18
  19. John P

    John P

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2012
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho U.S.A.
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One
    Thank you Mr. Canderson, My serial number is: E15356100183 . It isn't that I do not have another tomtom
    I have a VIA 1500 which I use a lot. but this one has the 3rd. party software that allows me to show my altitude when I travel.
     
    John P, Dec 18, 2016
    #19
  20. John P

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,898
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930
    @canderson
    My GO 930 with OS 8.002 used a 4 GB SDHC card, not microSD.

    Matter in fact it still uses it. That's where Customer Service installed the 980 map (after removing the Europe one) as they deterimined that my internal memory is corrupted.
     
    Arno, Dec 18, 2016
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. mred

    Memory Card Questions for ONE XL

    mred, Mar 13, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    18
    Views:
    14,033
  2. Starhammer
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    5,521
    su_A_ve
    Mar 30, 2009
  3. cvoce

    720 memory full - can't get it to use memory card

    cvoce, May 25, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,903
    c4791p
    May 25, 2010
  4. wjlelectric

    Internal Memory & Memory Card Question

    wjlelectric, Oct 26, 2010, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,521
    wjlelectric
    Oct 29, 2010
  5. erick black

    I need help - wiped memory card on TT ONE

    erick black, Jul 20, 2012, in forum: Technical Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,236
    Andy_P
    Jul 20, 2012
  6. hi8ha
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,955
    canderson
    Aug 18, 2012
  7. gerry98

    Memory card problem with TomTom One

    gerry98, Oct 5, 2014, in forum: Hardware and Peripherals
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    1,140
    canderson
    Oct 6, 2014
  8. sal289r

    TomTom one - no memory card and no maps

    sal289r, Apr 10, 2015, in forum: Maps and Routing
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    506
Loading...