Strange startup screen problem

Discussion in 'System Configuration and Customization' started by johnnyboy, Apr 10, 2014.

  1. johnnyboy

    johnnyboy

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ Routes Edition
    Hi

    I wonder if anybody can suggest a solution. I can't seem to change my startup and closedown screens.

    I replaced the splash.bmp and antitheft.bmp files.....

    [​IMG]

    .....and in TomTom Home (Manage your navigation device) they show up as.....

    [​IMG]

    .....as they should. The images are 480pxl x 272pxl.

    but when I start the TomTom, I still get.....

    [​IMG]

    That image should not exist on the TomTom as it was overwritten - as confirmed in TomTom Home (Manage your navigation device).

    Is there another TomTom startup image file lurking somewhere?

    The shutdown screen is blank.

    Does the TomTom have a cache that might need cleaning?

    Just doesn't make any sense to me [​IMG] so I'd be very grateful for any insight
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2014
    johnnyboy, Apr 10, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. johnnyboy

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,997
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Rename the files to splashw.bmp and antitheftw.bmp (notice the 'w' in each) and see what happens. If your model has a 4.3" screen, it needs the files to have the w in the file name.
     
    dhn, Apr 10, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. johnnyboy

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,405
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    In addition to the "W" I wonder why you have no check marks for either,
    "None selected".
     
    Arno, Apr 10, 2014
    #3
  4. johnnyboy

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Sorry... late to the party.

    To confirm what dhn said, all the bitmap files need a "w" at the end of the filename.

    The "TomTom and red hands logo" is hard-coded into the device, no bmp file required.

    Also, as an alternative to "antitheftw.bmp", you can have "suspendw.bmp" instead.
    Which image gets displayed is determined by your tickbox choice on "Warn me not to leave the device in the car" in the "Safety Preferences" menu.
     
    Andy_P, Apr 16, 2014
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.