Sony XNV660 - Updating Car Icons

Discussion in 'In-Dash Navigation' started by tomjontom, Oct 11, 2011.

  1. tomjontom

    tomjontom

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys and girls,

    as title, have a sony xnv 660 in my 911 Turbo, love it, really updated the interior gadgets!

    I want to update my car icon, Ive tried removing the navigation module and connecting it to my computer by USB but I cannot get my PC to recognise it as a drive or flash stick in order to find the folder with the car icons in it.

    Any help appreciated
     
    tomjontom, Oct 11, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. tomjontom

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,912
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I don't think that model is Navcore 10 (which doesn't show as an external drive).

    Try resetting the unit by holding the power button about 10 seconds till you hear the drum sounds (if that model doesn't have a dedicated reset hole).
     
    dhn, Oct 11, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. tomjontom

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    The Sony XNV is a newer app 10.x device, that will show up as a network card rather than a USB drive (per a patent settlement with Microsoft).

    You need to install the MyTomtom app on your computer (http://www.tomtom.com/getstarted), plug in the XNV module, and go to "Add Community Content" on the app. It will allow you to upload car icons to the XNV.
     
    mvl, Oct 12, 2011
    #3
  4. tomjontom

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,912
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    That'll teach me to butt in, eh? :frusty:

    Thanks for the clarification, mvl.
     
    dhn, Oct 12, 2011
    #4
  5. tomjontom

    tomjontom

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi MVL - Thanks for the info.

    So If I use that uploader and the Bitmap image it will automatically know what it is and place it into the correct location on the device?

    I've tried and all I see is an upload box? Does it do the rest I presume?

    Thanks for the help guys, appreciate it, will let you know how I get om.
     
    tomjontom, Oct 16, 2011
    #5
  6. tomjontom

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    When you click on "Add community content" you should get upload sections for various items.

    MyTT_Add_Community_Content_all.jpg

    You would wan the fifth section down.
    Do you get to see all those options?
     
    Andy_P, Oct 17, 2011
    #6
  7. tomjontom

    tomjontom

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    When I click add community content I am taken to a browser window but my only option is to 'Add POI set to device'

    I don;t get the list that you have shown.

    Any ideas or am I stumped?
     
    tomjontom, Oct 17, 2011
    #7
  8. tomjontom

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    Sorry,

    I just checked here and it appears that Tomtom hasn't released the car icons software update to the XNV line yet.

    So at this point there's no way to add custom car icons.
     
    mvl, Oct 17, 2011
    #8
  9. tomjontom

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    I'm getting a blank "Find your answer " page there, mvl, with no question entered.

    When they first got the "Add content" feature working on the TomTom Go models, it also only allowd you to upload POIs.
    The other stuff was added in an later software update. So hopefully it will come to the Sony models later on.
     
    Andy_P, Oct 18, 2011
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.