Sony XNV module not recognized by PC

Discussion in 'In-Dash Navigation' started by Big Rondo, Feb 23, 2012.

  1. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    I just got a Sony XNV-770BT and the XNV module is not recognized by the computer. I have downloaded and am running My TomTom. I have tried it on 2 different computers and have tried different cables. I have also tried resetting it with no luck. The module has been plugged into my computer all night and the light is still red.

    Any ideas?

    Thanks for looking in.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2012
    Big Rondo, Feb 23, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Big Rondo

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,912
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Recognized how? As a removable drive? If that unit is on the new platform requiring MyTomTom then it won't show as an external drive; it should show as a network connection.
     
    dhn, Feb 23, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    Not recognized at all. The computer doesn't know it exists and MyTomTom tells me to connect my device.
     
    Big Rondo, Feb 23, 2012
    #3
  4. Big Rondo

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,912
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Reboot the computer. Try a reboot again on the unit by holding the power button till you hear the drum sounds. Use the cable that came with the unit. Use a usb port on the back of the computer, not the front and not a port in a usb hub.
     
    dhn, Feb 23, 2012
    #4
  5. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    This is the XNV Module for the Sony XNV-770BT Head Unit. There is no power button on it. I have reset it several times. I have rebooted both computers several times and have the original cable plugged into a USB port on the back of the computer.

    The light on it is still red after being plugged into the computer overnight.

    I'm beginning to think this thing is no good.
     
    Big Rondo, Feb 23, 2012
    #5
  6. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    Update: I unplugged the module, pressed the reset button for 20 seconds, and plugged the module back in and it connected to the computer & MyTomTom recognized it.

    I must have done this same maneuver 20+ times with no luck. Fingers crossed!
     
    Big Rondo, Feb 23, 2012
    #6
  7. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    I spoke too soon. I disconnected the module and plugged it back in and I'm back to square 1. :noidea:
     
    Big Rondo, Feb 23, 2012
    #7
  8. Big Rondo

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    If you never updated the unit before, you likely have the old firmware that's really finicky with computer connections.

    A couple of things to try:

    - plug directly into your computer (no hub in the middle), and if you have a laptop keep the laptop plugged into AC.

    - Once plugged in, do the 20 second reboot, if MyTomtom recognizes it, update the firmware (Navcore) as soon as offerred (don't update maps if offerred, make sure you get the new Navcore first to stabilize the USB connection.
     
    mvl, Feb 23, 2012
    #8
  9. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    No dice. The 20 second reset does nothing.
     
    Big Rondo, Feb 24, 2012
    #9
  10. Big Rondo

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    It worked once for you... keep trying.
    Once you've updated the software, it should connect easier.
     
    Andy_P, Feb 24, 2012
    #10
  11. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    It didn't updated Navcore when it did connect. This is very frustrating. I have had several different TomTom's and never had a problem. Ilike the TomTom and that's why I bought this Sony.
     
    Big Rondo, Feb 24, 2012
    #11
  12. Big Rondo

    Big Rondo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester, MA
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 720, Sony XNV
    Contacted TomTom Support and the module was eventually deemed faulty. I now have a new one and it connects first time, everytime.

    Thanks to everyone for your help!:D
     
    Big Rondo, Feb 29, 2012
    #12
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.