SiRF Star III or Global Locate - how can you tell?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Uncle Ben, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. Uncle Ben

    Uncle Ben

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just bought a ONE on sale ... how can I tell which chipset it's using?

    TIA for your help!
     
    Uncle Ben, Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Uncle Ben

    MichaelC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's SiRF Star III. I think it's got the logo for it on the bottom. I have the hammerhead chip there's no logo on it.
     
    MichaelC, Oct 24, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Uncle Ben

    Wiley

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    The first character of the serial number is the indication...

    If the unit's serial number begins with an "E", it's a SiRFFIII chip set. Any other character indicates the Global Locate "Hammerhead" chip.
     
    Wiley, Oct 24, 2007
    #3
  4. Uncle Ben

    Uncle Ben

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, it looks like I've been HAMMERed! Is that good or bad? Has anyone compared the performance of a 'Hammered' ONE to a SiRF'ed ONE?
     
    Uncle Ben, Oct 24, 2007
    #4
  5. Uncle Ben

    Wiley

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Functionally the same... Marginally slower, due to shared system resources.

    The SiRFFIII GPS chip set does not need to share cycles of the system CPU, as does the Hammerhead implementation. TomTom swears that the typical user will not notice any performance differences...UNLESS they make a direct, hands-on comparison to the earlier (SiRFFIII) version 2 One.

    One issue that does appear to be directly related to the shared system resources... Many folks with the Hammerhead chip have commented about the SLOW initial satellite fix they are getting after they upgrade to the new Navcore 7.x system. The SiRFFIII units seem to be unaffected after the upgrade.

    I'm not aware of any other problems.
     
    Wiley, Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. msteers

    Star III chip changing to Global Locate??

    msteers, Apr 12, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,460
    digital-flex
    Apr 12, 2007
  2. dinch

    TT 1 XL - can't locate files on XP Computer

    dinch, Dec 9, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    747
    Smokiewolf
    Dec 10, 2007
  3. thegambler74

    Is there quick and easy way to tell what type of tomtom one you have

    thegambler74, Dec 30, 2007, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,167
    Pedro2NR
    Dec 31, 2007
  4. Mommajo

    can't locate streets

    Mommajo, Jan 8, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,195
  5. ezerhoden

    How do you tell what version One ?

    ezerhoden, Jan 28, 2008, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    19,595
    ludde28
    Jan 29, 2008
  6. 21rouge
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,151
    Smokiewolf
    Sep 4, 2008
  7. ninn

    SiRFstarIII or SiRF chipset regardless

    ninn, Oct 14, 2009, in forum: General TomTom Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    997
  8. JCE0591

    Thank You, Thank You, Thank You

    JCE0591, Jul 27, 2010, in forum: Off-Topic
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,192
Loading...