SiRF Star III or Global Locate - how can you tell?

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Uncle Ben, Oct 24, 2007.

  1. Uncle Ben

    Uncle Ben

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just bought a ONE on sale ... how can I tell which chipset it's using?

    TIA for your help!
     
    Uncle Ben, Oct 24, 2007
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Uncle Ben

    MichaelC

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it's SiRF Star III. I think it's got the logo for it on the bottom. I have the hammerhead chip there's no logo on it.
     
    MichaelC, Oct 24, 2007
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Uncle Ben

    Wiley

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    The first character of the serial number is the indication...

    If the unit's serial number begins with an "E", it's a SiRFFIII chip set. Any other character indicates the Global Locate "Hammerhead" chip.
     
    Wiley, Oct 24, 2007
    #3
  4. Uncle Ben

    Uncle Ben

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, it looks like I've been HAMMERed! Is that good or bad? Has anyone compared the performance of a 'Hammered' ONE to a SiRF'ed ONE?
     
    Uncle Ben, Oct 24, 2007
    #4
  5. Uncle Ben

    Wiley

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Functionally the same... Marginally slower, due to shared system resources.

    The SiRFFIII GPS chip set does not need to share cycles of the system CPU, as does the Hammerhead implementation. TomTom swears that the typical user will not notice any performance differences...UNLESS they make a direct, hands-on comparison to the earlier (SiRFFIII) version 2 One.

    One issue that does appear to be directly related to the shared system resources... Many folks with the Hammerhead chip have commented about the SLOW initial satellite fix they are getting after they upgrade to the new Navcore 7.x system. The SiRFFIII units seem to be unaffected after the upgrade.

    I'm not aware of any other problems.
     
    Wiley, Oct 24, 2007
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.