POI along route


Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
2
Silly question I'm sure, but is there a way to keep the "navigate to home" route active when using the "POI along route" option?

When I use the "POI along route" it seems to blow away the original route home. After visiting the shop or restaurant or whatever I seem to have to hit Navigate to Home and have it calculate it's way all over again.

For short trips it's OK but this last one was Florida to Toronto!
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
941
Location
Northern VA
TomTom Model(s)
ONE v2
Silly question I'm sure, but is there a way to keep the "navigate to home" route active when using the "POI along route" option?

When I use the "POI along route" it seems to blow away the original route home. After visiting the shop or restaurant or whatever I seem to have to hit Navigate to Home and have it calculate it's way all over again.

For short trips it's OK but this last one was Florida to Toronto!
I drove from Birmingham AL to home, and I noticed the same thing, I think if you want to go to a POI along the route as a spur of the moment thing, you have to just recalculate the route home when you're leaving the POI. The only work around I could think of is if you build an itinerary, but you would have to plan your stops ahead of time, before your trip for that.
 
Joined
Mar 16, 2008
Messages
2
I drove from Birmingham AL to home, and I noticed the same thing, I think if you want to go to a POI along the route as a spur of the moment thing, you have to just recalculate the route home when you're leaving the POI. The only work around I could think of is if you build an itinerary, but you would have to plan your stops ahead of time, before your trip for that.
This seems to be the way it works. Thanks!

It's totally spur of the moment decisions.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2007
Messages
53
Location
Aylmer, QC
TomTom Model(s)
One
Instead of navigate to, use the travel via function. Once you have hit your "off route excursion" it will resume your original route.
 
Joined
Jul 11, 2007
Messages
941
Location
Northern VA
TomTom Model(s)
ONE v2
Instead of navigate to, use the travel via function. Once you have hit your "off route excursion" it will resume your original route.
Do you have to do that before you head off, or can you do that while you're in the middle of the route, and wnat to find a POI on the spur of the moment?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
5,937
Location
Downey, California
TomTom Model(s)
GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
Enter your final destination first and use Travel via. enter your poi location or address after.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top