Newbie Q; I don't understand Itineraries...

Hi...
I'm a TomTom newbie; I just got an XL325SE for my B-day.
I've put in a few favorites, and things like that just to get used to it...I've inputted a few destinations using Google maps...that was cool...

Now....I was trying to pretend I was planning a "one day" car trip, with stops along the way for things like rest areas, and lunch about half way through....

Here is my Q: how do I do this?

When i inputted the starting point and ending point...I got stuck trying to figure out how to put in a few rest stops and a restaurant that was along the route. When i tried "POI along the route" it wanted to find restaurants that were right by my house!

Help!!

Yes..my unit has "Itinerary planning" but I'm confused.

I put in my starting point, my ending point, but what happens then? What If i'm not familiar with what's on the way or where to stop?

How do I find any good restaurants on the way without first knowing the city I'm going to stop in?

On a related note....what If I get all of this planned..and I want to make an unscheduled stop to do something and then "get back on the main itinerary" ? How do I do that?

thanks,
bob

yes..I did click the link, in fact, I tried to may an itinerary using Google maps/TYRE...but....

I'm still not clear on a few things,.

I know HOW to make a way point, but if I don't know what's along the way (restaurants, hotels, rest stops) how do I find them?

I can just click on the map at random and make a way point but that doesn't help me....

do you see what I'm getting at?

You're travelling from San Fran Cal, to Reno NV.

you know that you'll want to stop after about 6 hours of driving and eat somewhere....how do you know where to stop? what's available? etc....