New TomTom 740, Adding Maps?

I'm a TomTom newbie as of today, with my GO 740 Live.

While getting familiar with the device and using the TomTom HOME application on my Mac, I was surprised to see additional map and IQRoutes info available for purchase, and I'm a little confused.

The standard North America 2GB maps shows its installed -- so now for me to get more accurate routing and other information I have to buy another map package?

I'm primarily concerned with the US, though I could add on other countries later.

It doesn't make a lot of sense, so please could someone clarify.

Thanks!

Before doing anything with the device you need to make a full backup of the device to your computer.

Next use Home to update the device, you need to be running the latest Navcore on the unit.

Now use Home to update your map for free to the latest version using Latest Map Gaurantee

finally make another full backup of the device - Mike

I already did the backup and the updates.

So what are the differences between all the data in the other maps and what I have, apart from the country differences?

I'm also not sure about the map update subscriptions; I presume my unit runs "free" with Google Live for 3 months, then I have to subscribe to that.

When I try to add the subscription for the maps updates, I just get to the HOME application "buy more maps page" --

I do tech for a living - and I've never seen a device like this, it's confusing... it's not clear what you need, what you don't, etc.

Thanks.

You do NOT have to buy any other map, you are eligible for the Latest Map Guarantee to get the 840 map. Home-->Tools-->Latest Map guarantee. That will have even more IQ data and ALG data imbedded in it.

Once you do have the latest map, you can consider a subscription map series where 4 updates over the next 12 months is one fixed price. And much cheaper than purchasing just one map.