New to TOMTOM :o)

TomTom Model(s)
Wife has a TT1. Me a TTR2
Hi My name is TTR2 I'm new to the world of GPS. I always relied on maps to get anywhere but I find I'm traveling more with the wife across the great country that I love so much. (USA) I'm a retired Carpenter. So if I ask a few (ok alot) of dumb questions please bear with me. In case you were wondering I'm not exactly a genius with a computer either.:eek: I just recieved my new Tom Tom rider 2nd edition yesterday. So far I have managed to take it out of the box hook up the Blue tooth to my phone and mount it to the bike and the helmet. I have done all of this and have not broken anything yet. (pray for me) :D So far so good, things don't usually work out that way for me. LOL
I'm hoping to learn alot from you guys and girls, so please humor me a little on some of these things I might ask. I'm hooking the GPS to a 2004 Harley Davidson Road King. :cool: Thanks TTR2

You did not ask a question, but I will pass alone one recommendation from other TT rider owners - invest in a tether immediately. You can order it from the TT webpage (tomtom.com).

I have a car model (910), but have managed to mount it on a Dyna with a RAM mount. The electric connections would have to be rigged - but now I only use the battery and turn it off most of the time. It was very useful at European Bike Week however, got me through somewhat confusing streets at 2:00 in the morning.

I suggest you read the general forums and the limited "rider" section in particular. And definitely - get the tether right away if you doen't want to find out if your untit will survive a 40-50 mph (or more) fall on the road (some have apparently).

Good luck and safe cruising.

GAW The TTR 2nd eddition has a teather with it . The mount on the new TTR is different that the old one. So far ir seems to be a very stable connection.