Macs & TomTom

I'm currently looking to buy a new laptop - my main laptop is 5 1/2 years old and, while it still is a pretty nice machine, it's starting to wear out. I've been looking around for a replacement machine for some time now, with less than encouraging results: each and every laptop out there seems to be manufactured in China (or Malaysia, heh...) these days. I'm very reluctant to buy such laptops: I'm an IT pro and I use my laptop many hours a day; my wife uses hers only sporadically, for browsing and other similar activities; still, I bought her two made-in-China laptops (although, marketed under some brand name) in the past three years and they both had major physical problems (burnt backlight, cracks appearing in the casing, dead pixels, power supply problems etc). Worrisome was the fact that those were not super-cheap laptops ($4-$600), but supposedly expensive ones (~$2,000).

I am, thus, reluctant to buy an expensive machine (yes, I really need non-standard things like a WUXGA 1920x1200 resolution) which would be so badly manufactured, made from cheap materials etc. So - one of my friends suggested a Mac: apparently, their overall quality is much superior to a normal laptop. As I'm looking to buy another machine to last me 4 or 5 years, I said to myself "why not?" I'm not a gamer (at all!), there is a version of Office for Mac for exchanging corporate documents with others, my usual open-source tools are there (mostly)... hey, but what about odd little programs, like TomTom Home? I used to read - without much concern, sorry - about TT Home behaving quite erratically under OS X; is this still true? do Mac users out there face limitations and problems with their TT Home? I won't go that far as to say that the lack of a proper, well-behaved TomTom application would stop me from getting a MacBook (I could always use my trusted old laptop to deal with the GPS), but it would certainly be an annoyance, especially in the long term.