Ipad 3+3G Traffic HD

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by quincysw, Jun 22, 2015.

  1. quincysw

    quincysw

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 25 Ipad 3 app
    Hello

    As a newbie to the TomTom ipad 3 app I have purchased Security Cameras and Traffic HD and everything seems to be working well.
    One query I have is that do I need a sim card installed in order to use Traffic HD on my ipad 3 WIFI+3G
    Any help would be much appreciated

    regards

    Brian
     
    quincysw, Jun 22, 2015
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. quincysw

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I'm a little confused. You say 'everything seems to be working well', but unless your iPad has a live data connection, it's not going to be connecting to TomTom's server to get traffic. A few minutes after losing a WiFi connection, only the roadworks area will be shown on the device, not traffic. It requires a real time connection -- traffic condition data is too dynamic to depend upon for more than a few minutes at a time.
     
    canderson, Jun 23, 2015
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. quincysw

    quincysw

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 25 Ipad 3 app
    Hi Canderson
    Sorry about the confusion. What I was trying to say is that if I move out of a wifi area do i need a sim card in order to have hd traffic updated.

    regards

    Brian
     
    quincysw, Jun 23, 2015
    #3
  4. quincysw

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,060
    Likes Received:
    196
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Absolutely. You need some sort of connection at all times since traffic is updated every couple of minutes based upon actual conditions, and routing and ETA may change while you're driving based upon those conditions. So is it your plan to use your iPad with the TomTom app rather than your Start 25 so that you will have the added benefit of the Live traffic data?
     
    canderson, Jun 23, 2015
    #4
  5. quincysw

    quincysw

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    uk
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start 25 Ipad 3 app
    Yes I would prefer to use my ipad with the TomTom app so that as you say I will have the benefit of the Live traffic data.
    Thanks for your help

    regards

    Brian
     
    quincysw, Jun 23, 2015
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.