No Satellites found on iPad TomTom App

Discussion in 'Mobile Navigation' started by Steve Horton, Jun 18, 2014.

  1. Steve Horton

    Steve Horton

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was in U.K. In May 2014, I downloaded Tom Tom (Western Europe) for my I-pad but it could never locate a signal or satellites. It was absolutely useless....but I still got charged $50+ for the crap.
    I would not recommend anyone to use this type of "service".
     
    Steve Horton, Jun 18, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Steve Horton

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,046
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did you try calling CS?

    [​IMG]Canada (en)
    1 866 486 6866
    Monday-Friday:
    8:00am to 8:00pm EST
    Saturday:
    9:00am to 6:00pm EDT
     
    dhn, Jun 18, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Steve Horton

    tgold

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Miami Beach FL, New York NY and London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Android apps.
    I understand that the WiFi-only versions of iPads have no GPS capability - the GPS feature is part of the cellphone option. Can your iPad receive GPS with any other software?
     
    tgold, Jun 18, 2014
    #3
  4. Steve Horton

    Steve Horton

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0



    I use "starwalk" which manages to find and locate me....Also the maps find my location too.
     
    Steve Horton, Jun 18, 2014
    #4
  5. Steve Horton

    tgold

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Miami Beach FL, New York NY and London UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    Android apps.
    I am puzzled why the Apple App Store thought your device was compatible enough to buy the TomTom Navigation app. As David recommended, call TomTom's CS and see whether they can either help get that setup to run, else authorize a refund for you.
     
    tgold, Jun 18, 2014
    #5
  6. Steve Horton

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    iOS (and Android) uses a global roster of wifi hotspots and their locations to guess your location. Essentially, if any iPhone user has driven near your house before with their GPS on, that iPhone will store your wifi router serial number and gps position, and transmit it to Apple to add to their global roster. So whenever you use maps or another location app, it guesses your location.

    However, once you drive into a suburban highway with no wifi routers nearby, the iPad won't be able to guess a position any longer.

    Tomtom will only accept true GPS satellite locations, because they are more precise, and they work while on highways. Since you iPad doesn't have a GPS receiver it reports no location found.

    Again, call TT support and see what they can do regarding a refund.
     
    mvl, Jun 19, 2014
    #6
  7. Steve Horton

    Steve Horton

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
     
    Steve Horton, Jun 20, 2014
    #7
  8. Steve Horton

    Steve Horton

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all your advice and help guys. I'm currently dealing with Tom Tom with regards to the problem, they asked for screen shot of my model #, iOS! etc.....so hopefully they can find something there that makes things incompatible.
     
    Steve Horton, Jun 20, 2014
    #8
  9. Steve Horton

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ian, Jun 20, 2014
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.