I'm a TomTom n00b. A few ?s about my new XL-S.

I just received my very first TomTom today, a TomTom One XL-S. It has App version 7.140 and Map version v710.1575.

I am very new to the TomTom world so please be patient.

I've noticed some problems with the App version upgrade and it appears that I have the latest map set (I think?). Would upgrading the App version be a worthwhile venture?

I read some info on another forum that the reason for the "50% off Maps" is that there is speculation that new maps will be released sometime in the March/April timeframe.

Would it be wise for me to go ahead and buy the North America maps from the UK site? I went ahead and bought a 2gb sd card so that I could upgrade if need be.

Oh and is there a function that will make the display change from day to night mode automatically?

Thanks for the help and any other suggestions.

Apparently the maps are device specific now - therefore you will never be able to put any NA version maps on your XLS. Only the USA & Canada and the regional maps.... Basically anything that shows up in TT Home...
I can't verify this - I'm only going by what other folks have posted on here.

congrats on the tomtom!

q1: if your tomtom is operating problem free, then it's not a big deal. tomtom won't tell you what is new in the updates. could be bug fixes or a new feature. last couple of updates must have been bug fixes as i didn't see any new features. don't know what bug fixes either since i was not already having a problem.