How to reinstall POI on a new GPS


Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
314
Location
Montreal
TomTom Model(s)
XL-S
I had a XLS now a 330 XLS. Is there a easy way to transfer my old good POI to the new machine. Got problems of space, I copy everything in the machine, but ran out of space and also message MAP IS MISSING:eek: . SO there might be another way.
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,376
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
I had a XLS now a 330 XLS. Is there a easy way to transfer my old good POI to the new machine. Got problems of space, I copy everything in the machine, but ran out of space and also message MAP IS MISSING:eek: . SO there might be another way.


How did you try to get the map on the 330? If it was by copying from a backup made from the xls, it won't work. One map won't work in another unit, even if it were the same model, which yours isn't. The ONLY way to get a map on a unit is through Home's installation process. If your new 330 does not see its map that is supposed to be installed when you bought it, TAKE BACK the unit.

Once the map issue is resolved, you may have more success copying custom .ov2 (and associated .bmp) files from the map folder backed up from the old unit to the map folder on the new unit using Explorer.
 
Joined
Dec 4, 2006
Messages
1,020
Location
Toronto, ON
TomTom Model(s)
TT ONE v1
Your old POIs will be inside the map folder. Use Windows Explorer to see them.

They come in pairs: an .ov2 file and a .bmp file. You must copy both of them.

So copy all of these pairs of POI files on to a folder on your hard drive. Then connect your new unit and transfer them into the map folder of the new unit.

These are really small files and take up very little space. You will have no problem with having enough room on your unit's memory.

dhn is right. You can't get the old map to work on the new unit, so don't try to transfer the map.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
314
Location
Montreal
TomTom Model(s)
XL-S
Yes I copy everything from the old backup usa_canada folder, but it also contain map, that is what it happen. I have to seperate map and POI-image before. I will take the unit back.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2007
Messages
537
Location
Montr?al, QC
TomTom Model(s)
ONE XL-S
I had a XLS now a 330 XLS. Is there a easy way to transfer my old good POI to the new machine. Got problems of space, I copy everything in the machine, but ran out of space and also message MAP IS MISSING:eek: . SO there might be another way.

Not sure what you refer as ?old good POI?? If you refer to the 9x0 large POI.DAT and CRPOI.DAT files? AFAIK, the 330 does not have the SD card slot and if you refer to the files I suspect, there would not be sufficient space to fit those into the 1GB internal memory of your 330 as they are over 300MB.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Mar 4, 2008
Messages
314
Location
Montreal
TomTom Model(s)
XL-S
Not sure what you refer as ?old good POI?? If you refer to the 9x0 large POI.DAT and CRPOI.DAT files? AFAIK, the 330 does not have the SD card slot and if you refer to the files I suspect, there would not be sufficient space to fit those into the 1GB internal memory of your 330 as they are over 300MB.

Old good, I mean the one I got before. It is now fixed, got another unit, a new map 7.25 and got all my POI back. Thanks to all.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top