how to install poi's

Discussion in 'TomTom POI Requests' started by cnj101, Oct 8, 2006.

  1. cnj101

    cnj101

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, I have a tomtom one and I am trying to install some poi's I got from this wonderful forum. Could someone please help me out?
     
    cnj101, Oct 8, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cnj101

    drledger

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    TN
    TomTom Model(s):
    930T and XXL
    I am sure there are others who can answer more technically but i
    hook my 910 to my computer to have it recognized as a drive, locate it by explorer and then locate the folder labeled North America
    unzip the poi then copy those to the folder North America in tomtom
    close tomtom folder on the computer and then restart the 910

    I just did one this way and it works well for me. Please never hesitate asking questions on this forum. 99 percent of the people will respond courteously and with a wealth of knowledge. The moderators have made everyone feel welcome and are doing a great job getting tomtom to recognize the needs of the north american market as well as us as individuals.
     
    drledger, Oct 8, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cnj101

    cnj101

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thank you very much. I just got this thing and am currently doing a backup. As soon as it is complete I will try your suggestion. Thanks again, Joe...
     
    cnj101, Oct 8, 2006
    #3
  4. cnj101

    cnj101

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    worked great, Would it be safe to assume that the same process would work for voices?
     
    cnj101, Oct 8, 2006
    #4
  5. cnj101

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    Yes, its the same process for voices.
    Also, you can create warning when near that specific POI.
    When you go to preferences, go to page 2 of 7 and select Manage POIs.
    Click on Warn when near POI, then click on the category you want warned.
     
    Pedro2NR, Oct 8, 2006
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.