How to Install Custom POI's to your TomTom Device

Discussion in 'Attractions' started by digital-flex, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. digital-flex

    jimj

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Carolina
    TomTom Model(s):
    TTGO 910
    Haven't tried yet. Sunday family dinner and nap take priority!!
     
    jimj, Apr 23, 2007
    #21
    1. Advertisements

  2. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Of course! :D
     
    digital-flex, Apr 23, 2007
    #22
    1. Advertisements

  3. digital-flex

    jimj

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Carolina
    TomTom Model(s):
    TTGO 910
    Did as you said worked great. Then remembered I had downloaded manual as .pdf. The old saying. RTFB. everything was there. Thanks.
     
    jimj, Apr 23, 2007
    #23
  4. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Glad to hear it.
     
    digital-flex, Apr 23, 2007
    #24
  5. digital-flex

    Sextant

    Joined:
    May 26, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    5
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO-910
    I'm having trouble with the POIs. I've downloaded a few and followed the instructions here. They are in the North_America folder (there's North America and North_America but it looks like the maps are in the one with the _...)

    I can't find them in the list of POIs on the TomTom now. Am I missing something? Are they already in other categories? How can I change what category they are in so I can find them?

    ETA: I discovered that when I did the Map Update I never removed the old maps. I was installing the POI's into the old map, not the new one. When I deleted the old map and placed the POI's in the correct map directory everything worked. You can use this as a reminder to the new folks unpacking and updating their maps. :eek:
     
    Sextant, May 27, 2007
    #25
  6. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Glad to hear it worked out.
     
    digital-flex, May 27, 2007
    #26
  7. digital-flex

    johnbarry

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Coleman Cove, Nova Scotia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go 510
    Downloading POIs to Macs

    Hi Digi-Flex

    Do you know how one downloads POIs to a Mac. Unzipping the zip file is no big deal but finding where to place bmp and ovi files is a mystery. Thanks
     
    johnbarry, Jul 1, 2007
    #27
  8. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Hi johnbarry,

    You want to copy the .bmp and .ovi file in your map directory on your TT unit. Follow step 5 and onwards.
     
    digital-flex, Jul 1, 2007
    #28
  9. digital-flex

    Chrisnola

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    RE: Macs

    Hi,
    I hate to ask, but I don't know how to open or copy the downloaded POIs to the Map Directory on a Mac. Is this accessed through HOME?
    Thanks.
    Chris
     
    Chrisnola, Jul 11, 2007
    #29
  10. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    I don't own or used a Mac but I'll try and help you out.

    After having downloaded the POI, you need a program to unzip the file. You can use the program Stuffit, which I link to in the tutorial. Download and install it.

    Now use the program to unzip it to your desktop on your Mac. You should then see two files appear with the same name i.e. Wal-mart.ov2 and Wal-mart.bmp.

    You want to copy these files using the Mac file system manager to your TT device's map folder. In Windows, we have Windows Explorer. I believe its called File Finder on the Mac (not 100% sure on that). When you connect your TT device it should be recognized as a external hard drive. Browse that hard drive and look for a folder of your map. It should be USA_and_Canada, North_America, Guam etc. depending on where you are located.

    Drop those two files in the those map folders. That's it.

    Let me know if you have problems.
     
    digital-flex, Jul 11, 2007
    #30
  11. digital-flex

    Chrisnola

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks

    God, I feel stupid--I never thought to look in Finder...I was focusing on the Home software and kept clicking and clicking.
    Thanks a lot.
    Chris
     
    Chrisnola, Jul 11, 2007
    #31
  12. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Cool...so I assume you were able to install the POI's?
     
    digital-flex, Jul 11, 2007
    #32
  13. digital-flex

    MiniTransAm

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    TomTom Model(s):
    One
    If you have more than one map installed on your TT, do you need to put copies of the custom POI's in each map folder to be able to access them from all of your maps?? I'm assuming you do since you put the POI's in the map folder.
     
    MiniTransAm, Nov 10, 2007
    #33
  14. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    Yes, thats correct.
     
    digital-flex, Nov 10, 2007
    #34
  15. digital-flex

    JackGus

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT One LE
    SD Card Question

    I think I finally figured out how to add POIs, but have one question about them. Obviously the drive on the TT is pretty small once you start adding all of this stuff, if I buy a SD card for my TT, do I move everything to that and treat it as the "hard drive" or will the TT read from both drives?

    Thanks for the help!!


    Gus
     
    JackGus, Nov 27, 2007
    #35
  16. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    You have to copy everything to that SD card.
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 28, 2007
    #36
  17. digital-flex

    JackGus

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    TT One LE
    Pedro2NR,

    Thanks for the help!


    Gus
     
    JackGus, Nov 28, 2007
    #37
  18. digital-flex

    Pedro2NR

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,937
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Downey, California
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 910, ONE V2, GO 920 GO 730 & iPad TT App
    You're welcome.
    Good Luck
     
    Pedro2NR, Nov 28, 2007
    #38
  19. digital-flex

    dinch

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    TomTom Model(s):
    One XL
    Can't get the same screen as yours

    I'm trying to load a series of POI's as you suggest, but can't seem to find how to copy to my TTom. I have version 1XL.
    I connected my TT device to my computer via USB and wanted to copy the two files in my map directory, as directed by "Super Moderator". Problem is, I can't locate this map directory. I have the US_Canada map installed - I don't have a card.

    Please help me to better understand what I have to do.

    David in Ottawa, Ontario
     
    dinch, Dec 6, 2007
    #39
  20. digital-flex

    digital-flex

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,975
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Toronto, ON Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    ONE v2
    You can replace the reference of North America with US_Canada as the NA maps was where I wanted to install the POI's.
     
    digital-flex, Dec 7, 2007
    #40
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.