GO530 - no maps

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Velomanx, Sep 5, 2020.

  1. Velomanx

    Velomanx

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go530
    I have a Go5200 which runs on My Drive Connect on Windows 10.

    I also have an old GO530 which has stopped working as it can't find any maps.

    Just before the GO530 stopped working I downloaded the latest update but it now says that there are no maps on my device.

    I contacted TomTom who informed me that the GO530 is no longer supported because the updates provided by Windows 10 were too big for Home2.

    I was running the GO530 off an old Windows7 laptop so that I could still use TomTom Home for updates.

    Where I live nearly every main road is covered by average speed cameras and I would like to be able to use the GO530 on a motorcycle that I have as its speedo is inaccurate.

    Is there any way of downloading or obtaining the maps so that I can see the actual speed according to the satnav so that I don't run the risk of exceeding the speed limit.

    Any help or advice would be welcome.
     
    Velomanx, Sep 5, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Velomanx

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,130
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    As the 530 is considered End of Life by Tomtom, no maps are available for the device. Sorry.
     
    dhn, Sep 6, 2020
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Velomanx

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,205
    Likes Received:
    201
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    The new maps aren't too big for Home2, they're too big for your 530.
    Please look back at your Windows7 laptop, if you still have it. I assume Home is loaded on that device. Open Home and see if it sees any maps still on the computer. At a minimum, we might be able to get your old map restored on your 530. That said, your 5200 is a much better device in many respects, especially if you drive where there's any traffic.
     
    canderson, Sep 6, 2020
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.