Help! Tomtomn Go530 died suddenly!

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by Befuddled, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi there,
    My beloved Go530, cosseted and treated with love, never dropped (etc etc, you get the point!) stopped working recently.:(
    Sometimes, it turns on long enough to get the Tomtom drum, but there is no picture at all.:confused:
    I have tried charging it both in-car and USB. USB recognises it and I can use it through the PC, but there is no tomtom screen on the device.

    Please advise me as to what I should do. There are so many shonky people out there claiming that they can fix any problem etc, and I don't want to be ripped off, but I really don't have a clue here!

    Many thanks for your help.

    :)
     
    Befuddled, Oct 30, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Befuddled

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Welcome to TTF.

    Have you tried a pin reset on the unit?
     
    dhn, Oct 30, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi dhn,
    Thank you for the welcome.
    I have reset the unit several times, and held down the on/off button for longer than usual, in case that helped!
    :(
    No joy.
     
    Befuddled, Oct 31, 2010
    #3
  4. Befuddled

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, Oct 31, 2010
    #4
  5. Befuddled

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Before you were having this problem, had you tried to use the unit while disconnected from both house and car chargers, and did it operate for at least a few minutes? I ask, because it sounds like your battery is toast. Even plugged in, with a dead battery, these things don't behave well. I've never taken time to confirm it, but I get the sense that most of these TomTom units operate in a way similar to some other devices -- they run off the battery all the time, and charge the battery concurrently with operation, but don't/can't use the charger current to operate the unit at all.
     
    canderson, Oct 31, 2010
    #5
  6. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Befuddled, Nov 1, 2010
    #6
  7. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    Previously, yes- I used it for a short journey and it was fine without a power source. When I found that it wouldn't work, I hadn't used it for about a week... So the battery problem makes sense.

    Is the battery changeable as a user, or does it need to be done by a grown-up/specialist?!

    Many thanks.
     
    Befuddled, Nov 1, 2010
    #7
  8. Befuddled

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    I've never cracked open a GO530, but if it follows the same design as the 730 and 930, the sticky up above this thread covers the battery replacement for those models: https://www.tomtomforums.com/tomtom...730-920-930-battery-replacement-tutorial.html

    If you find that it looks the same once you've taken out the two screws that hold a 730/930 together, I'd continue to follow along with the process as described. Your 530 uses the same battery as the rest of the models, and can be purchased from the same sources.
     
    canderson, Nov 1, 2010
    #8
  9. Befuddled

    kellypups

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Broken GO530

    I had a similar problem with my 920. It was total battery failure. I downloaded the change battery instructions and bought a battery on ebay for $20.00 NZ and my son in law did the whole job in 15 minutes. Tom Tom do not have an agent in New Zealand and they wanted $90.00 plus freight to send it 3000 km to Australia to look at it and then give me a quote. The instructions were perfect and the procedure simple.
     
    kellypups, Nov 21, 2010
    #9
  10. Befuddled

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Pleased to hear that we saved another one from the dust bin! It all reminds me of the uproar when Apple released their first product with a "sealed in" battery. Apple got with the "flat rate" battery exchange program pretty quickly after all of the bad press. Shame we can't get the same, although your S.I.L. was still no doubt less expensive :p
     
    canderson, Nov 21, 2010
    #10
  11. Befuddled

    starscraper19

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Battery solution

    I had similar problem and purchased a new battery from NewPower99.com
     
    starscraper19, Nov 21, 2010
    #11
  12. Befuddled

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    You can't get them to give you the packs at the office?
     
    canderson, Nov 21, 2010
    #12
  13. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Their youtube video of the battery replacement was phenomenal.

    The sad thing is, it hasn't solved my problem :-(

    I'm trying to charge it, but I'm unable to tell whether it's charging.

    Oh, this is most distressing! :confused::mad:
     
    Befuddled, Nov 28, 2010
    #13
  14. Befuddled

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    Charging from PC cable or car adapter? What does the charge indicator light on the 530 say is happening?
     
    canderson, Nov 28, 2010
    #14
  15. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Charging with USB cradle I just get the green light at the bottom right of the device. No screen. A couple of times I got the tomtom drums sound when trying to turn it on, but nothing else. Charging from the car, I got nothing but the green light... I went past a few speed camera and got the warning sounds, but nothing else.
    However long I leave it 'charging', the device doesn't seem to get warm. I was wondering if there's a way that I could charge the battery on its own. The new (and expensive!) battery is behaving in the same way at the original tomtom one.

    My device was passcode locked before it stopped working- not sure whether this makes a difference.
     
    Befuddled, Dec 1, 2010
    #15
  16. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh, and once when I connected it with USB cradle, it gave the Windows USB device connected noise, but at no other time lately. Tomtom PC software says no device connected, whereas before, I could work the PC software, but not the device.
     
    Befuddled, Dec 1, 2010
    #16
  17. Befuddled

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,135
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Try a pin reset on the 530 and see if the unit is recognized when connected to the computer/Home now.
     
    dhn, Dec 1, 2010
    #17
  18. Befuddled

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    It sounds to me like you've had a failure of the display. If you drove past speed cameras and the unit let you know about them with an audible alert, it's obviously fully functional from a GPS and audio standpoint - you just don't have any video. My units aren't warm when they charge either, BTW.
     
    canderson, Dec 1, 2010
    #18
  19. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks- I'll do that again, in case it works this time!
     
    Befuddled, Dec 6, 2010
    #19
  20. Befuddled

    Befuddled

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's the only sound I do get- I've had the tomtom drums a couple of times.

    I thought my units did get warm...it's been so long since they worked that I may be wrong! ;-)
     
    Befuddled, Dec 6, 2010
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.