GO 300 Touchscreen not working - HELP!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by brian43, Dec 30, 2008.

  1. brian43

    brian43

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a GO 300 with version 7.903 that - until now - has worked OK for over three years. Until now, I've been able to troubleshoot and solve every issue I've had with the device and they've been many!

    The touchscreen does not accept any of the commands when the icons are pressed. I've tried reinstalling the application (no help), running clearflash several times (no use), running "checkdisk" from Windows (no issues), etc.... I can operate it from my TomTom Home but that's it. I cannot get past the "I agree" legal disclaimer screen.

    Customer service - while very nice and as helpful as they could be - says there is nothing else I can do as, obviously, the unit is out of warranty. Short of tossing it - what can I do! HELP!!! And I've course I'm leaving on a trip in a few days and would love to have it up and working.
     
    brian43, Dec 30, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. brian43

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Have you tried a pin reset (you did not mention it)?
     
    GAW, Dec 30, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. brian43

    brian43

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes - tried the pin reset many, many times. Nothing.
     
    brian43, Dec 30, 2008
    #3
  4. brian43

    GAW

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    CA Bay Area
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Does not sound good.

    I think I have seen some sites that sell misc parts like screens, but not sure. It would be a hard way to go anyway. New units are very cheap compared to original prices....
     
    GAW, Dec 30, 2008
    #4
  5. brian43

    calmant224

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    The touch screen is damage ,try to replace it or send it to a repair center try here

    [live link removed by moderator - if you're attempting to sell your repair service as you have posted it in numerous posts, please contact our forum administrator regarding paid advertising]

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 18, 2010
    calmant224, Feb 8, 2010
    #5
  6. brian43

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,835
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You are replying to a thread that is over a year old.

    The OP is in the States and wouldn't benefit from the link you posted which is in the UK. Also, my understanding is that the site you listed is no longer considered reliable .
     
    dhn, Feb 8, 2010
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.