ETA / speed-to-time calculations

I've been using my TT One XL-S for about five months now. I am continually frustrated by the time calculations (call it whatever it is - ETA estimate, speed-to-time, arrival time, whatever.)

Here's my problem - the arrival time estimates are always off, sometimes as much as 1 hour. As an example, (warning - Canadian/metric units) I travel across the prairies fairly regularly. One trip I take is 95 km one way (let's round that up to 100 km). I travel at 120 km/h, so let's round that down to an average of 100 km/h to include the edge of town speed-up/slow-down, traffic, etc.

I leave at 9 am. You'd think the TT would tell me that I would be arriving in the neighbourhood of 10 am give or take. No... it tells me 11 am, or 10:35 am, or some time (always longer/slower) - enough that it makes me wonder if the thing is programmed to ... I don't know... add in a few rest stops? Calculate arrival time based on current speed minus 20 km/h?

I just don't get it. Any help or insight or even hacks would be appreciated. (Yes, I did search the forums using a few key words and only found discussions of route choice, not arrival time calculation.) Just so I'm clear here, there isn't an issue of multiple routes here. It's a straight shot along a single possible route (think prairie, road like an arrow as far as the eye can see.)

Thanks in advance,

Paul

Last edited:
I've also noticed that the unit makes a pretty poor initial ETA guess--it could often be described as "wildly inaccurate."

This is especially true for distances in excess of 30 miles, but mine seems to make corrections as the trip progresses. Of course, it's a simple matter to adjust the ETA down to the last minute as the final (possible) minute approaches...

R?

I've been using my TT One XL-S for about five months now. I am continually frustrated by the time calculations (call it whatever it is - ETA estimate, speed-to-time, arrival time, whatever.)