Erased Backup & software on device

Discussion in 'TomTom Home and MyTomTom Software' started by AWB, Jan 17, 2019.

  1. AWB

    AWB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS410 used on Toyota Yaris 2011 model
    Hi I've inadvertently erased backup and device software on TNS410 so currently have no way of restoring device which is basically an empty device . How can I find a copy of device software to reload and so restore usefulness of device . Help
     
    AWB, Jan 17, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. AWB

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,997
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You might have luck with Support:


    [​IMG] United Kingdom
    02079 490 132
    Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
     
    dhn, Jan 17, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. AWB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    HOME should offer to restore your device's firmware. The map, on the other hand, could be an issue.

    Before you said you have erased 'backup', but let us ask: Have you ever downloaded a new full map for your device? If so, there should be another 'backup' that you may have missed.
    If we can find the map on your PC, HOME can be used to restore all of the rest.

    Specifically, I want you to look at the folder My Documents\TomTom\HOME\Download\complete\map to see if by some chance you have at some time downloaded that full map set that we need. If so, it's all going to come out pretty well in the end.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
    canderson, Jan 18, 2019
    #3
  4. AWB

    AWB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS410 used on Toyota Yaris 2011 model
    Thanks for the replies . Unfortunately I don't have any other backup for maps etc. I've looked at all locations but no backup . Also Home does not now detect Tom Tom sat nav when connected that I guess is sure to the device now being empty of any start up software or even an identifier
     
    AWB, Jan 18, 2019
    #4
  5. AWB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Doesn't detect your unit? Unless it is toast for other reasons, Home should always recognize it. Wondering if perhaps you have a cable problem there. You can't delete the bootloader, and that's where the USB code is that initially talks to Home. However, you could load a BAD bootloader onto the device that would prevent it from working. We need to know exactly what you did. What exactly did you do to 'erase' it? Did you format it???
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2019
    canderson, Jan 18, 2019
    #5
  6. AWB

    AWB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS410 used on Toyota Yaris 2011 model
    Not totally sure , but recollection is that the device was connected to laptop and inadvertently deleted files on it , I remember an instruction to initialise , which i did , so the pc recognises a connected device but the device itself does not show instruction to connect yes or no It shows cable connection.So ability to update from Home is not possible .
     
    AWB, Jan 18, 2019
    #6
  7. AWB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    OK. Let's take this from the top.
    I assume you have the removable TNS410 (aka Eclipse II) model that came with the Yaris. That particular model has NO available internal memory. The key to its entire operation is an SD card that holds the firmware and the map data. It shares firmware with the old GO 520/530/630/730 models which we can get you to download directly if need be. So before you bin this one, let's have you insert the SD card into a PC/laptop with a card reader and see what you can see that way as opposed to trying to connect to the device itself.

    Do you know what version of code was on the device already? We may start you out back at 8.351 and see how that goes.
     
    canderson, Jan 19, 2019
    #7
  8. AWB

    AWB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS410 used on Toyota Yaris 2011 model
    Hi Yes the model is a TNS 410 has fitted to a Yaris 2011 . There is a n SD card slot but there has never been an SD card used . So I would assume there is an internal memory in this model which is what I have erased.
    If I can get a download of the data files I should be able to copy to the device using my laptop. This I hope will enable the device to be recognised by TomTom Home.and if necessary update.
     
    AWB, Jan 19, 2019
    #8
  9. AWB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    As far as I can tell from my very large magic decoder ring, the TNS410 has no internal memory, and MUST have an SD card fitted to operate. That unit and configuration was common to all of the Toyota and Daihatsu models in that period. When you plug the unit into your PC, how much memory does the PC say you've got available on the device without the SD card?

    That said, let's see what happens if you get this software loaded. Not knowing the last version of firmware on your unit makes this tricky because the bootloader that does remain (you can't see it) needs to match the firmware within a range of releases. Download the file in this link, and unpack it as as though it were a zip file right into the root of your TNS410 >> http://download.tomtom.com/sweet/navcore/8.351.go530-go730-go930.CAB-navcore-GO.cab

    Again, this will take you back to version 8.351. If it does work, Home will later offer versions more recent than that, probably as late as 9.401.
     
    canderson, Jan 19, 2019
    #9
  10. AWB

    AWB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS410 used on Toyota Yaris 2011 model
    Thanks , For your interest and help
    I've checked and the TNS 410 info reveals Capacity of 2.05 gb but with only available 175.4mb , which is strange as on opening the device there are no files showing . So I can only assume the original files are still there but not showing.

    I"ve downloaded the file in the link but I cannot open. That may be because my laptop is a MacBook air and does not have a program to open it
     
    AWB, Jan 19, 2019
    #10
  11. AWB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    You open the file as though it were a *.zip file (same format). So whatever util you use for zip will get it done, but that probably will not be necessary now.

    READ THIS FIRST:
    https://macmost.com/how-mac-trash-handles-external-drive-files.html

    If you have a Mac (ouch), and as the video shows, they are FAMOUS for leaving the files in place and just deleting the directory entries when creating 'trash' for removable drives (like thumb drives and TomTom units), which may WELL save the entire situation. I suspect the reason that you only see 175MB is because all of those deleted files are being held in a LOCAL trash can on the device itself.

    DO NOT WRITE ANYTHING AT ALL TO YOUR DEVICE!

    If you haven't yet emptied/deleted the local trash can on the TomTom, go ahead and recover it just as you would the trash can on the Mac itself. Copy all of them to a folder on your Mac first.
     
    canderson, Jan 19, 2019
    #11
  12. AWB

    AWB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS410 used on Toyota Yaris 2011 model
     
    AWB, Jan 23, 2019
    #12
  13. AWB

    AWB

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    TNS410 used on Toyota Yaris 2011 model
    Thanks for all the help managed with help to retrieve files from TomTom device TRASH and reinstate . All working again now . Thanks Again
     
    AWB, Jan 23, 2019
    #13
  14. AWB

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    canderson, Jan 23, 2019
    #14
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.