Changing Maps - U.S. to Europe

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by Weecosse, May 23, 2014.

  1. Weecosse

    Weecosse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920T, XXL 540TM.
    I am planning a trip to Europe and plan to take my GO920 or my XXL, How can I temporarily remove my U.S Canada maps from my device and load the Europe Map?
     
    Weecosse, May 23, 2014
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Weecosse

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,997
    Likes Received:
    443
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    1. Copy the USA_Canada map folder to the computer using Explorer.
    2. Once you are **sure** the map folder is safely on the computer (remember where you put it), then delete the USA_Canada folder from the device.
    3. Copy your Europe map folder from the computer (I assume it is there) to the unit again using Explorer.
    4. When back from Europe, just reverse the process.

    OR.....

    Method B: (if using the 920, I think the 540 also has a card slot)

    1. Get yourself a mini sdhc card for your unit of maybe 8 gb in size, the faster the speed (class 6+) the better.
    2. Install the Europe map on the card.
    3. When you want to change maps, just (in the device) go to manage maps-->switch maps.
     
    dhn, May 23, 2014
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Weecosse

    Weecosse

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO920T, XXL 540TM.
    DHN, than k you I will give that a try.
     
    Weecosse, May 23, 2014
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.