Cannot install Camps9 on GO520

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by subyroo, Jul 15, 2017.

  1. subyroo

    subyroo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast - Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One V2
    I am trying to load Camps9 Australia Wide onto a friends GO520, I have tried both USB & WiFi connection to install the POI's but just keep getting an error asking to retry when using the program Camps9_for_TomTom_GO_Windows.exe to try and get the Camps9.OV2 POI's onto the GO520.

    Can anybody help by giving me instructions on how to go about getting the file and loading it?
     
    subyroo, Jul 15, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. subyroo

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,889
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I assume that your friends GO520 is a relatively new one, not one of the GO520 units from many years ago (bad idea to re-use the number, but that's TomTom... )

    I suspect that the *.exe file was designed to directly load the *.ov2 to an older Nav2 device. In those days, the architecture of the devices was open, and you could see all of the files on the device. That is no longer true for Nav4 devices (two generations hence).

    If you have found a way to extract the camps9.ov2 file, then you need to use the features of the MyDrive web interface to load POI files to the new GO520 device. I cannot recall the exact URL for Australian users, but here we use https://mydrive.tomtom.com/en_us/ and set up an account for the device and use that interface for moving POI files 'through the cloud' to the device.
     
    canderson, Jul 15, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. subyroo

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Note account!
    The user name and password must be the same as used on the GO 520.
     
    Arno, Jul 15, 2017
    #3
  4. subyroo

    subyroo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast - Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One V2
    Thanks for your help fella's, we finally got it to all work and the POI's installed.
     
    subyroo, Jul 16, 2017
    #4
  5. subyroo

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Glad to see you got it sorted.
     
    Arno, Jul 16, 2017
    #5
  6. subyroo

    subyroo

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast - Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom One V2
    G'day Arno, it still took 2 of us a little while to sort it all out, I wrote up a step by step guide for the owner of the GO 520 and saved it to her PC, but somewhere between saving it and re-opening an hour or so later it had mysteriously become corrupted. Go figure!

    I cannot for the love of me understand why the process for the GO 520 is more convoluted than my old TomTom One v2, anyway it is done until the next time now. :)

    Thanks.
     
    subyroo, Jul 17, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.