Brand new Go 5100 keeps freezing and restarting


Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
27
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go5100
Many times now my two day old Go 5100 has had exactly the same strange symptoms. It appears to happen immediately after using the screen to see something using the menu or when zooming. No particular pattern as to when it happens but the symptoms are identical each time, regardless if on battery or charging.
  1. Suddenly the screen stops responding to anything
  2. Then after a few seconds the screen goes black except for two very small white dots about 1mm square in the top left and bottom left corner.
  3. After about 20 s the black disappears and the left hand side of the screen shows a very transparent form of the map but with the right hand side of the screen being lit up but blank.
  4. After a further 20 seconds or so the whole screen goes black again
  5. After being black again for about 5s the normal map view comes back with my route instructions and everything is working again

Any ideas what can be wrong?
 
Ad

Advertisements

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds.

Call support for further assistance:
United Kingdom
02079 490 134
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
 
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
27
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go5100
Try a drum reset on the unit by holding the power button about 20 seconds till you hear the drum sounds.

Call support for further assistance:
United Kingdom
02079 490 134
Monday - Friday: 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Thank you, I've already tried resetting it by doing that. Obviously that clears the fault at that time but then it will happen again later. I will call support if I don't get any help here but I hoped TT would be monitoring these posts.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,156
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
They do not monitor any posts here. We are not affiliated with them at all.
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
What you are seeing is a device crash, after which, it is recovering on its own.
If you haven't already done so, give it a full shutdown rather than just a 'sleep', which forces a reboot.
I also assume your firmware is up to date? Not all prior versions were as stable as the current version.

Have not seen a 5100 do this on a regular basis yet.
 
Joined
May 29, 2017
Messages
27
Country
<img src="/styles/default/custom/flags/gb.png" alt="United Kingdom" /> United Kingdom
TomTom Model(s)
go5100
Thank you but I fear that will only cure it for that time. I always switch it off completely when I'm not using it so in effect it always starts from a clean boot.

Yes it should be up to date. The first thing I did after buying it this week was to install MyDrive and install all the recommended things that Mydrive found - including the software upgrade, some community map things and full Europe map (that was already too big to fit unless I deleted Russia. (Rather disappointing that a brand new device hasn't even enough memory to install its own latest map unless I pay extra for a SD card.)

Although the update didn't go without a hitch as it gave error messages saying drive I: was not available and then something about memory bank DM2, 3, 4, 5 not being available. Finally I think I have the most up to date map as the device shows the same number as the one mentioned in the upgrade. Mydrive still suggests I upgrade to the map with the same number though, maybe because the one on the device doesn't have Russia.
 
Ad

Advertisements

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,299
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
drive I: was not available and then something about memory bank DM2, 3, 4, 5 not being available.
Sounds like a number of errors on the PC side, though one wouldn't expect that this would have done anything harmful to the unit itself. It should be checking the integrity of the resulting map and complaining if it's unhappy.

With crashing that regularly, I'd be inclined to push support for an RA number and have them swap it out for a new one, or return it for exchange at the retailer that sold it to you.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top