Both TT GO600's will not connect to MyDrive after latest OP System Update

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by GGP711, Mar 29, 2019.

  1. GGP711

    GGP711

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    G600
    I've had GPS's and TomTom's for a long time. Very familiar with setup and operation. I purchased 2 600's about 2 years ago I think, and they have worked perfectly. During the latest Map Update, it included an Operating System update, so that was updated first. Rest of the update of maps and road changes went normally.

    Well, since the OPS update, I can get the TT's to Pair with my iPhone, but they will not connect to Traffic or MyDrive, so they are nothing but nice standard GPS's. I live in the Denver area and the traffic updates and re-routes are important for me.

    Has anyone had this happen to them? I've e-mailed back and forth with TomTom support a lot during the last 3 weeks, and basically get the standard help to do what is in any manual. I've tried resetting the TomTom's,

    I purchased a GO620 for my daughter since it's WiFi capable, and she doesn't have a computer to update and plug into via cable. In her setup instructions it says that not only does the BlueTooth need to be on but the Personal Hotspot as well. Several of the emails I received from TomTom instructed me to turn on my Personal Hotspot on the iPhone as well, but this has NEVER been required during the previous operation of the 600's.

    Has a 620 OPS update been downloaded onto my 600, and it is not physically capable of understanding the requirements of the software????????????
     
    GGP711, Mar 29, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. GGP711

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    Welcome to TomTomForums.
    What is the Application version on the 600 and on the 620?
    [Menu >>> ? > About]

    You can do the updating of the 620 on your PC. Make sure you gave it a different (fake?) eMail address.
    The update on that one can be done via straight WiFi or connected via USB. The USB only provides a 'flow through' to your PCs WiFi but has the advantage not to have the 620 shut down during an upgrade due to a low battery.
     
    Arno, Mar 29, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. GGP711

    GGP711

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    G600

    I'm afraid my issue isn't with the 620. My issue is having 2 perfectly good 600's that now no longer operate since the last update included an OPS update. They both worked perfectly up until then. I received Traffic data so I could reroute around stops on the highways and I was connected to MyDrive. Now both the Traffic and MyDrive will not work no matter what I try to do to Activate them.
     
    GGP711, Mar 29, 2019
    #3
  4. GGP711

    GGP711

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    G600

    This is the Application Version presently downloaded to my GO 600 I currently have in the house:
    18.202.0024.311 (0)(12/05/2018)
     
    GGP711, Mar 29, 2019
    #4
  5. GGP711

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,606
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Oops. Cross posted. I see your version number now.
    Also in the Denver area, running 0024 code on my 600.
     
    canderson, Mar 29, 2019
    #5
  6. GGP711

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,606
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    Guess the first question would be .. are you able to pair your 600 to your phone?
    Second would be .. is MyDrive up and running more or less normally on your phone? I so, if you pan/zoom around the map, do you any see traffic on the MyDrive map on your phone?
     
    canderson, Mar 29, 2019
    #6
  7. GGP711

    GGP711

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    G600

    Yes, the phone Pairs with the 600. Yes, I can see Traffic data on my phone.

    I just received (since I last posted) an e-mail back from TomTom, and it finally had one new instruction that none of the others said anything about.

    It had to do with one link to click on that you would not normally. Here is the part that actually just fixed my problem (if it will copy and paste):

    1. Tap on OK, Show me how and you will get to see the below screen to scan QR code with instructions.




    Note: Please note that the process listed is for newer generation devices and there is a statement between Step 4 & 5 which needs to be tapped.




    1. On the next screen, please tap on Yes and follow the process on the nest screen






    On TomTom device


    1. Tap on the Menu button in Map View or Guidance View to show the Main Menu.
    2. Scroll to the right of the screen and Select TomTom Services.
    3. Tap on Network Status.
    4. Check if the device is searching your phone, or else Tap on and Select Search
    5. Again, the device will search for the phone and then Tap on the name of your phone and pair it.
    6. If still the device does not find your phone, then on your phone please open Settings and select Bluetooth.
    7. Now, again on the device Tap on and Select Search.
    8. If you see the name of the phone, then Tap on the name of your phone and pair it.

    Well the pictures of the menu's etc, did not copy and paste, but the step between 4 and 5 in the setup has the link about Blue Tooth.

    I am going on a quick run downtown and will test it now out in the truck.

    Thanks for your help and I will let you know if the problem has gone away.
     
    GGP711, Mar 29, 2019
    #7
  8. GGP711

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    72
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I did not think that he was on that OS already, but asked as I presumed the OP was still on an older one.
    Phew, you got in in the neck of time ;->)
     
    Arno, Mar 29, 2019
    #8
  9. GGP711

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,606
    Likes Received:
    165
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    I don't know if you have ever driven north of Denver on I-25 with your 600 or 620, but if you have done so with "Avoid Toll Roads" enabled, you will have no doubt noticed that there is a malfunction somewhere in the map data that forces you off of I-25 at 84th, runs you north and parallel to I-25 on Grant, then let's you back on I-25 again further north. A couple of us (including the TT employee responsible for Colorado and New Mexico) are doing our darnedest to figure out what is embedded in the map geometry that causes this, but so far, there's no ready explanation. That said, it's still being worked on. It's been like that for about a year and a half now.
     
    canderson, Mar 29, 2019
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.