Alphanumeric street numbers in the USA


mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Tomtom launched alphanumeric house numbering with some of the June 850 maps.

To get alphanumeric support, you need:
- Application 9.x or later
- Map 850 or later
- Map must end in a P (eg: Usa_Canada_Mexico_P or North_America_P)

Currently, these maps will be included in the Latest Map Guarantee with the new purchase of the following models:
- EASE
- ONE 140 or higher
- XL 335 or higher
- XXL 530 or higher

If you already have one of these models, upgrading to map 850 will add alphanumeric support.

I finally had a chance to check with someone who had this map, and all the prior reports of problems in Hawaii and in rural Illinois are fixed.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
104
Location
USA
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 540TM Navigon 7200T
As I posted elsewhere to your notice, would this correct the numbers with hyphens in the (25-22 Main St) ?
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
The hyphenated addresses work now. Here's an example of how they look in Hawaii:

When a street has letters or hyphens, the lower left of the "street number" screen adds an alphanumeric button.



Then, when you tap that button, a full alphanumeric keyboard shows up for street number input.



Also, the hyphens show properly in "Browse map".
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Kim

Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
122
Tomtom launched alphanumeric house numbering with some of the June 850 maps.

To get alphanumeric support, you need:
- Application 9.x or later
- Map 850 or later
- Map must end in a P (eg: Usa_Canada_Mexico_P or North_America_P)

Currently, these maps will be included in the Latest Map Guarantee with the new purchase of the following models:
- EASE
- ONE 140 or higher
- XL 335 or higher
- XXL 530 or higher

If you already have one of these models, upgrading to map 850 will add alphanumeric support.

I finally had a chance to check with someone who had this map, and all the prior reports of problems in Hawaii and in rural Illinois are fixed.
I have a Go 720 does it have alphaneumerical support for that one? WhaT does all sold mean?
 

canderson

Moderator
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
11,333
Location
Colorado, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
I have a Go 720 does it have alphaneumerical support for that one? WhaT does all sold mean?
Sadly, no. Your firmware is "officially" stuck at 8.351 (probably forever) and this new feature requires firmware of at least 9.XXX to function. You also don't have the map set that supports the feature (it's a non-"P" map on the 720).
 

Kim

Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
122
You mean i have to get a new GPS,in order to get Alphaneumerical addresses? That's real fair! Why can't they put ANA in all map updates? WhaT'S so hard about that?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Apr 19, 2010
Messages
104
Location
USA
TomTom Model(s)
XXL 540TM Navigon 7200T
MVL -
1) As you posted previously, the hyphenated addresses now can be entered, but only where TT allows it. My mother's town has most of the addresses with hyphens, so the "-" comes up on the keyboard, but on other local towns where hyphenated addresses exist, it does not show up. I entered the address without the "-" and it did find it.

2) Almost all the highways in my area are "routes" rather than "highways". I changed the "highway" and "hwy" (also in caps) in Loquendo/data file to say "route" in those cases, but it does not. I also added my street and tried to have it say a different name, but it would not. Can these be changed somewhere?
Some streets are spoken, "E main Street". If I change the "E" and "e" in Loquendo to speak "East", will it say it completely?
Thanks
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
6
I just bought a TOMTOM XL 335-se I came home....conntected to TOMTOM Home and it updated my GPS System but still no Alphanumeric street address and I live out in Hawaii.....Since I updated the tomtom I cannot update another map for free now Please help
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
Is your device less than 30 days old?

If so, in the Tomtom home menu, go to "Tools -> Use Latest Map Guarantee".

If you don't get the latest map, then call Tomtom support to manually activate your latest map guarantee (you'll need to send them proof of purchase).
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
6
yes my tomtom device is less then 30 days old....just bought it thursday 9-29-11.....when i try doing what you said to do i get an error that says " The latest map gaurentee does not apply to the current map on your TomTom device". I emailed tech support and they said alphanumeric address are not possible at this time.
Thank you for taking the time to contact TomTom Customer Support. My name is Amanda and we are always happy to help.

Unfortunately, we cannot enter the alphanumeric street numbers in the address, this is known issue and we have already forwarded the feedback received from our esteem customers like you to our product development team. As of now we do not have any map downloads available using which you could enter the alphanumeric street numbers. I regret for the inconvenience caused.
 
Ad

Advertisements

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
The support rep is probably mistaken.

Can you respond and post your specific application and map version? (see here)

The 335SE should be compatible with application version 9.061 and map version 875.3669

That combination should give you alphanumeric addresses.
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
OK, I made a mistake. Your app 9.151 is the latest for your model.

The problem is that your map is outdated. Call up Tomtom (email is less effective), and tell them you need to get the Latest Map Guarantee update, to upgrade to 875. They'll need to manually activate the latest map guarantee, once you fax or send them a scanned copy of your proof of purchase. The phone rep can walk you through the steps.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
6
So i contacted TOMTOM support via Phone....they were stll unable to help me other then havnig me go through the options on the TOMTOM device and sending in an error report for address not listed WTF!! LoL
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
When you call Tomtom, complain about not getting the latest 875 map, which you are owed under "Latest Map Guarantee".

Don't mention anything about alphanumeric addresses as it will only confuse the phone rep (they get confused easily).

Once you get map 875, it automatically includes alphanumeric addresses.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
6
Thanks for all your help.....I have called many times now since last posting and still TOMTOM support states there is no way to have alphanumeric street addresses....I told them that I just bought my GPS and sent them proof of purchase. I told them i have map version 845.xxx and could not update for free using latest map garuntee to get the 8758.xx maps and they are telling me i have to pay for it. I guess Ill go get a Garmin or something else LoL Thanks again
 

mvl

Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2008
Messages
5,455
Location
Boston, MA, USA
TomTom Model(s)
GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
It's a shame that Tomtom support is so poorly trained regarding alphanumeric addresses. If you go into any Best Buy and see the GO2535 or VIA1500 demo models, they all have newer maps preloaded and you'll see alphanumeric addresses in action.

It's a shame, Tomtom's New York call center used to be very intelligent and well trained. I haven't needed to contact the support center since they moved it to Mexico earlier this year, but the sheer incompetence they show in your case makes me hope I never have to.

The LMG is only available on new (non-refurb) models from authorized retailers. The 335se is a Walmart exclusive, did you buy it new from them?
 
Last edited:

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,170
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
To Nitefal808.......

I don't know if anything can be done but I've reported your problem directly to a contact at TT.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Oct 1, 2011
Messages
6
Ya bought it new from them a week ago...i explained to TT that I just bought it and understand that the map version 875.xx is the new map and it will not let me install it using LMG. Even though their website states if you purchase a new GPS and a new map is available you can dl using the LMG but after explaining that they still insist i must pay. I bought the TT XL 335-se and provide proof of purchase and everything but thanks again guys
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top