720 + traffic updates usa

I am new to all this and the tomtom site seems very unclear of what is needed. From what i have read, all i need to receive traffic updates for the go 720 is either the traffic receiver or a mobile phone capable of receiving updates? Is there a subscription from tomtom as well or is it currently free for the US?

Currently I have t-mobile and am wondering if anyone is using it with the traffic plus service. I am curious if the $5.99 a month add on for t-mobile covers what is needed for traffic.

I also live in the Chicago land area... Does anyone use this service in or around Chicago, if so how good is it.

I am going to try it and see if it works. Has anyone added traffic to their tomtom and how does it work

I am using T-Mobile and the traffic receiver both right now, as the traffic receiver finally became available over a year after it was promised.

You should probably still be able to get a least a trial subscription without buying a receiver (which comes with a 1 year subscription - even though it was advertised as being a one-off cost if purchased). You will probably have to call TT support and see if they will still set the service up without the receiver - had to do that numerous times until I got the receiver.

I am not sure if the $5.99 internet service will work - I was told by TT that only the unlimited service would work. I think some other users have said it does - so give it a try.

You should first be sure you have set up a TT Plus services account with your device registered, and then set up TT Home. Connect your device and run TT Home. Try to activate the traffic account (if TT set it up for you) with the unit connected through TT home first, as you can deal with the phone connection separately later.

As for the phone, you did not say which make and model you have. Check out their list of devices. if yours is not on it, you could try to set it up anyway - My Nokia 6133 thinks it is a 6131 on the device and works OK.