2405: Is April map 807.3404 the most current?

Discussion in 'Maps and Routing' started by fred9, Dec 1, 2011.

  1. fred9

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    When I connect my 2405 to the 'net I'm told it is "up to date" and when I try to update my map I'm asked for a activation code which this model doesn't have.

    My map is 807.3404

    My app is dated 8/9/11.

    thank you
     
    fred9, Dec 1, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. fred9

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    That doesn't sound like a map version to me. Where are you reading it?
    (You need to go to Settings/ Version information)

    Latest maps are v880.xxxx which came out two weeks ago
    Previous maps to that were v875.xxxx which came out in mid-August

    The original maps on that model were v855 and the map version number has gone up in '5's every time for years, so I'm not sure where you saw "807".
     
    Andy_P, Dec 1, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. fred9

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,835
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    You are using MyTomTom and not Home 2 for that unit, right? Get it here; tomtom/getstarted

    The 8.07 is not a map application version. The current map is 880 which came out November 15th, 2011.

    When you log into MyTomTom after it's installed, do you use the email address you first registered the unit with and NOT an email used for a previous unit?

    If your model is not a 'M' (lifetime maps), there is nothing to activate. If it is, then there should be a code on a card with the package of materials. You need to call CS at 866-486-6866 and they can activate lifetime maps at their end.

    If you bought the unit within the last 90 days and have not updated the map previously, you should be able to get the current one using the LMG on the website that'll open up when you connect.
     
    dhn, Dec 1, 2011
    #3
  4. fred9

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    I called CS and they did have to activate me. they said it was a courtesy activation. So now my unit is downloading. The unit was bought new last June.

    I have the "Card" which says I get lifetime maps but it doesn't have a code. it says to go to tomtom.com/getstarted. Of course when I did that it asked for an activation code. So that's why I called CS.

    I will say that the CS call was ok. The wait time was less than 1 minute.

    Thank you for your help too!
     
    fred9, Dec 2, 2011
    #4
  5. fred9

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    ps . at age 68 I'm getting more dyslexic. My current map number is 870.3404 (not 807.3404.)
     
    fred9, Dec 2, 2011
    #5
  6. fred9

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Ah cool.... That all makes sense now.

    v870 was released 2 quarters (6 months) ago.
    We've had v875 and v880 since then
     
    Andy_P, Dec 2, 2011
    #6
  7. fred9

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    8.80 on device and 8.70 on "MY Account"

    This morning TomTom message is that I have an update. I log in and hook up my device. The Manage Content page shows I have Map 8.8 on my device (good) and that I have map 8.7 on My Account".
    The only "action" allowed is to put the 8.7 back on the device which I don't want to do.
    1. Should I do anything?

    2. I now notice that 8.8 is just the US whereas 8.70 includes Canada and Mexico. Shouldn't my update have included Canada and Mexico?

    Thanks
     
    fred9, Dec 2, 2011
    #7
  8. fred9

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,835
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Yes it should have for that model. Call CS at 866-486-6866.
     
    dhn, Dec 2, 2011
    #8
  9. fred9

    fred9

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Connecticut
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 500 2405TM XXL540TM
    OK. I now have the 8.8 map that includes Canada and Mexico.

    Again, CS was good. He admitted the last guy gave me the wrong map.

    And again, thank you to folks!
     
    fred9, Dec 3, 2011
    #9
  10. fred9

    nitsanh

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2405
    I bought my device 7 month ago, the map version is 875.3611 (USA, Can & Mexico) and when I hook it up to my computer it says 'No map to download'.
    Does it make sense?
     
    nitsanh, Feb 14, 2012
    #10
  11. fred9

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,835
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Nope. The latest is 880 which was out last November 16th. That said, map version 885 is due any day now, most probably within a week.
     
    dhn, Feb 14, 2012
    #11
  12. fred9

    nitsanh

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2405
    So if it won't downloaded automatically to my device I assume I should contact CS?
     
    nitsanh, Feb 14, 2012
    #12
  13. fred9

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,835
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    If you didn't get the lifetime maps (M) model of your device or a year's subscription of the map on your unit, you should NOT be expecting a map upgrade when it comes ou,
     
    dhn, Feb 14, 2012
    #13
  14. fred9

    nitsanh

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2405
    I do have the TM model.
     
    nitsanh, Feb 14, 2012
    #14
  15. fred9

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,835
    Likes Received:
    423
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Did you REGISTER it online (or the better way, by a call to Customer Support at 866-486-6866) when you got the unit? The activation code was on a card in the package of materials marked DO NOT DISCARD.

    Without registering the activation code against the serial number of your unit, TT doesn't know to send new maps when they are released.
     
    dhn, Feb 14, 2012
    #15
  16. fred9

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,557
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    As far as I know, all of the GO2405 models were GO2405TM, so you should have seen the 880 map become available. Assuming you registered your unit (using email and password) on MyTomTom, I would suggest that you call Customer Service at 866-486-6866 and have them enable this for you. Be prepared with the serial number of your unit.

    885 should be out in the next week or so.

    Ooops ... looks like I should have read "Page 2" first...

    Never mind.
     
    canderson, Feb 14, 2012
    #16
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.