XXL550TM and XXL540S traffic problem.


Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
9
Here is the story.
4 month ago I bought my new XXL550TM from Best Buy USA and use it in Canada (Toronto area). It came with USB traffic receiver/charger.
From the day 1 it showed green circle only near big cities. But it newer shows the real traffic information.
I can have road blocked or accident ahead and ?No accident on the road? on the screen. :confused:
It does same with my 2 years old XXL540S.
Same receiver works fine with same 5 month old XXL540S.
TomTom sent me another receiver.
Now:
Nothing changed for XXL550TM and new XXL540S.
With my old 540S it continuously shows ?retrieving traffic information?. Never see green circle.:(
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
9
Latest map and soft.
XXL550TM - Map v870.3420. App 9.161.576155.2, OS 567329
Old XXL540S - Map v870.3420. App 9.136.640817.2, OS 567329.
I did reset. Nothing changed.
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
9
It is working on new XXL540S.
XXL550TM has a green circle but never shows accidents on the way.
 

dhn

Moderator
Joined
Oct 1, 2007
Messages
23,273
Location
Toronto Canada
TomTom Model(s)
Go 50; Go 520
Worth a shot........................

1. Make an Explorer, not Home, backup of the 550's contents

2. Copy these files FROM the 540 TO the 550:
a) tmccodes.dat
b) traffic.dat.

(they'll be in the root of the unit).

See if that helps.

Do you have one or two combo rds-tmc antennas/car chargers?

If two, switch them between units and see the results.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
9
They are in USA_Canada_and_Mexico_P directory.
Switching these files between 555TM and old 540S changed nothing.
Later I will try to take files from working unit.
Any other Ideas?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
9
Why do I have App ver. on new one 9.161 and on the old one - 9.136?
Can problem be here? App downloaded from Home as update.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 9, 2011
Messages
9
For some reason it gave me 9.136 as only app available.
I copied app 9.161 from new xxl550 and it's back online.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top