Why the sudden App release activity for GO 720

Discussion in 'Navcore' started by gbullman, Apr 5, 2012.

  1. gbullman

    gbullman

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Jersey
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom Go 720
    After sticking with 8.301 for a number of years, TomTom has released multiple 9.4xx updates for my GO 720 in the last few months. They all seem to work great and I'm happy to be giving this device new life but does anyone know or can speculate on why all these releases are suddenly becoming available for the older devices?

    I recently replaced the battery and have been keeping maps current with the subscription service so I intend to keep using this device for a while, just curious what changed from TomTom's perspective.

    FYI, I was having the USB connectivity issue with this particular device and did the firmware update that was posted elsewhere in these forums. That cleared up the USB issue so now I have no problems with the device. In my opinion the route selection by my TomTom is a lot better than that of the Toyota Gen 5 Nav system in my 2009 Lexus.
     
    gbullman, Apr 5, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. gbullman

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,929
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The 9.4XX release for all models was to incorporate proper legal wording for information sharing. Also added some different looking icons to older models and also changed some stuff behind the scenes
     
    dhn, Apr 5, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. gbullman

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,728
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    ... and made the French government happier by singling the out handling of speed and red light cameras (France made it illegal to display them on a nav unit) when you are in or cross into France, causing code changes for the rest of us as well.
     
    canderson, Apr 6, 2012
    #3
  4. gbullman

    Kim

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it have alpha-numerical addresses on it?
     
    Kim, May 19, 2012
    #4
  5. gbullman

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,929
    Likes Received:
    436
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    dhn, May 20, 2012
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.