Which US models will support HD traffic in USA

Discussion in 'TomTom Services' started by wbwjr, Jun 13, 2010.

  1. wbwjr

    wbwjr

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    I'm getting ready to upgrade my 920 and wanted a TOMTOM unity that will support HD traffic when it becomes available in the USA. Does anyone know which models I should be on the watch for? Also considering the Garmin Nuvi 3700 series when it is released.
     
    wbwjr, Jun 13, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. wbwjr

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,100
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    If true HD traffic comes to the States, don't think any current models will support it.
     
    dhn, Jun 13, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. wbwjr

    wbwjr

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    Who do you think has better traffic? Garmin or TomTom.
     
    wbwjr, Jun 15, 2010
    #3
  4. wbwjr

    gatorguy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 930
    It varies from service to service and region to region. If you're in a major metro then TomTom's Live service will better serve you. Otherwise it's a crapshoot. Note that TomTom and some Garmin devices use the exact same traffic provider, Clear Channels Total Traffic Network. Garmin's two other providers are Navteq Traffic and MSNDirect.
     
    gatorguy, Jun 15, 2010
    #4
  5. wbwjr

    wbwjr

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    I'm in the Washington DC area so maybe the Live service is the way to go. Reading reviews, it does look like this unit has some issues. Any preferences for the 340 over the 740 model?
     
    wbwjr, Jun 15, 2010
    #5
  6. wbwjr

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,100
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    The 740 is the LIVE model. The 340 series is not LIVE.
     
    dhn, Jun 15, 2010
    #6
  7. wbwjr

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    tomtoms biggest advantage is that iqroutes usually finds a better avoidance path than competitors when traffic is reported since iqroutes has historical traffic on sideroads. also the 340s live is one variant of the 340 series that has live traffic. all other 340 models dont have live traffic.
     
    mvl, Jun 15, 2010
    #7
  8. wbwjr

    davidalan99

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    TomTom Model(s):
    740 Live (not Used), Iphone 4 with TomTom & Navigon and TomTom Car Kit (not used)
    I am in the Bmore area. Many a trip to DC before during and after the rush hours. I am currently using both an Iphone with TomTom and the car kit and 740 live with traffic. I find the 740 and the TomTom with the kit work well in DC. The Iphone on the car kit loads faster and displays the traffic a little better than the 740 (warning information pops up automatically). The routing and the traffic are identical on both units.
     
    davidalan99, Jun 15, 2010
    #8
  9. wbwjr

    wbwjr

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    So, do I pull the trigger on the 740 live or wait for a unit that will offer the HD traffic. I've read other posts on the forum that they are having issues with the traffic feature.
     
    wbwjr, Jun 15, 2010
    #9
  10. wbwjr

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,100
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I wouldn't hold my breath waiting for a unit with HD traffic to come to the States if you are reasonably eager (read: the next six months) to get a new unit.

    I could be wrong, just saying.....................:cool:
     
    dhn, Jun 15, 2010
    #10
  11. wbwjr

    mvl Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Boston, MA, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 2535 LIVE, GO 1535 LIVE, GO 740 LIVE, Go 930
    i was in the same situation a year ago and finally gave up and got a 740. got sick of waiting, and getting stuck in traffic jams. other than the loss of a music player im happy with it.
     
    mvl, Jun 15, 2010
    #11
  12. wbwjr

    gatorguy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Florida
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom 930
    The only issue I might consider with the 740 is whether TomTom is going to continue application improvements/fixes for it much longer. Tomtom has moved on from the x40's in Europe and I'm expecting the same here fairly soon on the 740. It's a good device but no longer in TomTom's plans. Since it sounds like you're wanting a TomTom with the best near future, it might be worth a wait 60-90 days to see if something materializes. If you just can't wait there's nothing wrong with choosing the 740. I felt it was the best available device from them when I bought mine a year ago.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
    gatorguy, Jun 15, 2010
    #12
  13. wbwjr

    wbwjr

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    TomTom Model(s):
    920
    My 920 still works so maybe I will hold off until the next gen. is released.

    Thanks for the advice.
     
    wbwjr, Jun 15, 2010
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.