what are "Trusted Sources"

Discussion in 'General TomTom Discussion' started by mccririck, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. mccririck

    mccririck

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    TomTom Model(s):
    TomTom XL IQ2 (XL350)
    Who are they and why do TomTom trust them?
     
    mccririck, Dec 31, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. mccririck

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    11,112
    Likes Received:
    199
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720, GO740TM Live, GO 1535 Live, Via 1535, Via 1605, GO 52, GO 600, GO 620, GO 630, TomTom Bridge
    I assume you refer to the MapShare threshold settings. You ask a question that I have NEVER seen answered anywhere. I don't think I've ever even seen one of the beta testers that are here in this forum come up with an explanation for it.

    I do know that the program isn't really vetted the way you might think. If you set the threshold all the way to "Strict", it seems no changes ever appear, indicating that TomTom is never taking time to fully review MapShare modifications.

    What I can say is that "Medium" allows in a fair number of changes, and I don't seem to get bit by them in terms of accuracy. How many "many" is - no idea - but evidently a sufficient number of people to avoid too many errors, so I stick with that setting and have been reasonably pleased with the results. With that setting, I currently show 1171 corrections against the 860 2GB North American map.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2010
    canderson, Dec 31, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. mccririck

    zadock

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO 730 x 3
    In Australia the "Trusted" people are along the lines
    (a) TomTom staff or other such and the changes are verified
    (b) Trusted sources such as goverment agencies
    (c) Private sources whose changes have consistently proved accurate.
    At least this is the TomTom speel.
    Having had my unit set to strict and seeing the changes I deleted all these and went back to the original map. The shared data was rubbish eg speed limits.

    One reason is that it is very difficult to change a small section (say 1km) of a long freeway (50Km) with the TomTom edit process selecting the full length by default. You then have to deselect all the sections which make up the remaining 49Km. Most people manage to get this wrong. I think the edit process should be reversed.
     
    zadock, Feb 1, 2011
    #3
  4. mccririck

    Gordon.J

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    TomTom Model(s):
    Via 180
    Zadoc makes a good point about the difficulty of upgrading the maps by the users.

    Is there some sort of gift that tomtom gives to people (like a free map upgrade) for reliable correct changes of more than 10 per month, say.

    Another point, if I put in a change, will the change appear on my own device. I can trust my changes :) but I don't want to trust everybody's changes.
     
    Gordon.J, Feb 11, 2011
    #4
  5. mccririck

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,106
    Likes Received:
    448
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Welcome to TTF.

    changes you make via mapshare on the first few screens WILL appear on your own map, yes, but anything in mapshare that can be reported only (such as the additional of a new road) will not. For those geographical changes, you can only hope they'll appear in a future map update.
     
    dhn, Feb 11, 2011
    #5
  6. mccririck

    Sir_Vikin

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greenville NC, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    XL350TM
    Heh," hope" is about it.. I have been waiting 5 years for the street that I live on (+30 other houses) to be added. Google and Navteq finally added it this year, Tomtom however seems to want me to suffer a bit longer, lol.
     
    Sir_Vikin, Mar 3, 2011
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.