Via53 Qr code not focusing.

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Gordonc, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. Gordonc

    Gordonc

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start50 Via53
    Trying to connect my Sony Xperia G3121 to new Via53. Qr code shows out of focus on phone and does not read,
     
    Gordonc, Jan 23, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Gordonc

    canderson Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    10,509
    Likes Received:
    160
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    TomTom Model(s):
    GO720 GO 740 GO1535 GO1605 VIA1535 GO 600
    No experience with the Xperia, but you might want to see if it will focus on anything when in the mode you are using to scan the QR code. If it is a focus issue with the Xperia, not sure what to tell you.
    Since it's an Android phone, one thing I could recommend is use of a program called Barcode Scanner. I use it for many things, and its autofocus firmware seems to drive my Galaxy S8 very well.
    Find it here >> https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.zxing.client.android
     
    canderson, Jan 23, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Gordonc

    Gordonc

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    TomTom Model(s):
    Start50 Via53
    Thankyou for advice but I have the app you linked on my phone. Going to try and copy and print Qr code to see if will read
     
    Gordonc, Jan 23, 2019
    #3
  4. Gordonc

    Arno Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,132
    Likes Received:
    71
    Location:
    Toronto - Pickering, ON
    TomTom Model(s):
    930; GO 620; Start 63
    I used to have QR reader on my Samsung but it didn'yt do much.

    I finally found that even if it looks blurry and is only partially within the frame lines it scans perfectly providing
    the device has been deleted from the phone before scanning.
     
    Arno, Jan 24, 2019
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.