Using old voices with Via 1605?

Discussion in 'TomTom Voices' started by bugeyed1, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. bugeyed1

    bugeyed1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conroe Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1605tm
    I have a Via 1605tm & it replaces an XXL540. I had several purchased voices & some free ones that I had downloaded. I had done a full copy of the content of the 540 before it died & want to use some of these voices. There are a bunch of .chk & .tlv files in the voice folder, but the file names are just dataxx & not descriptive. First, can I use these on the Via 1605 & second, how do I load them. I have a micro SD card if that's the method, but do I have to put the files in a folder? Any help is appreciated & if anyone has a link to this info, even better.
    Any idea if TT intends to build a site to support downloads as was available for Nav2 units?

    Thanks,
    kev
     
    bugeyed1, Nov 29, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. bugeyed1

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    You should be able to use at least SOME of your old voices.

    But firstly, the vioce "set" should consist of these files:
    dataxx.chk
    dataxx.vif
    dataxx.bmp (optional - the icon)
    dataxx.tlv (optional - ONLY used by TT Home for it's own purposes)

    So you do need to find those .vif files. They are the link between the voice name and the "xx" number in the file names.
    If you open a .vif file in Notepad, you will find the voice "name" in there.

    To add these voices to the new TomToms, you use the "Add community content" feature in MyTomTom.
    Launch MyTomTom, and click on the icon in the system tray (next to the clock).
    Select "Add community content" and a browser window will open.
    Scroll down to "Add voice" and click on it.Then click on "Browse"
    You'll get a standard file selector, use it to find the .chk .vif and .bmp files (the .tlv is unnecessary)
    Click on "Open" and then "install" back in the main window.

    That should work for the FREE voices you have.
    I suspect the paid-for voices will be locked to the device they were purchased for, so they won't work. It's worth a try... but I doubt it.

    The voices will be installed directly onto the internal memory, unless there isn't enough room, in which case you'll be asked to insert an SD card (which will need formatting in the unit)

    There's no folder to put them into, because the new units don't use the standard PC-type of formatting and file structure. That's why you need to format any SD cards to TomTom's own format on the device itself.

    Finally, no I don't think TomTom will ever get round to launching a similar download site as they did with Home.
     
    Andy_P, Nov 29, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. bugeyed1

    bugeyed1

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Conroe Texas
    TomTom Model(s):
    VIA 1605tm
    Thanks, the voices worked except for John Cleese which was purchased. Dario Franchitti worked, so I guess it was free.
    BTW is there a way to clear all of the files like foreign voices etc. that I don't want?
    Is there a source for these files that were available for me with the nav2 device, that I may dnload them & then install in the 1605? Mainly, I am looking for a male computer voice.
    Thanks,
    kev
     
    bugeyed1, Nov 30, 2012
    #3
  4. bugeyed1

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    22,912
    Likes Received:
    435
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    No, as yet it isn't possible to install extra computer voices on Nav 3 devices.
     
    dhn, Nov 30, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.