used TomTom GO930 questions

TomTom Model(s)
TomTom GO930
Hi all,

I need a few advises on my recently-received-as-a-gift used TomTom GO930. I am new to TomTom (all of my life I used Garmin) and will appreciate any feedback from TomTom community. I do understand that all my questions are a personal choice but I will be glad to see your answers/comments to each question. I'll try to make a long story short.

A week ago I got used TomTom930 4GB as a gift. GPS came to me only as a unit itself with car charger, that’s all. The person who gave it to me is no more connected to the previous owner and got from the owner only the unit and the car charger. I also will not be able to contact the previous owner. So, there is no way to have more GPS pieces or any information from the owner. In fact, the person who gave it me is considered to be a co-owner but never used TomTom Home, updates, etc.

I am planning to give this GPS to my family (in USA). They will use it only for short local trips (80 mi radius maximum). No plans using it as mp3 player or photo-viewer. I have no plans to spend a lot of money on this GPS (including accessories). I tested this TT GO930 on the long trip (850 miles) in parallel with my Garmin nuvi 765T. Seems to me that TT GO930 working fine with just a slight difference in routing (a few miles here and there) compare to Garmin.

Now there are my questions/thoughts (finally!)

1.I am pretty much sure that the previous owner registered this GPS and downloaded TomTom Home software. Would I be able to use TomTome Home? Will TomTom consider that I stole the device? Is there an issue? Would somebody have/had the same problem? What is the best resolution for this? The device password was given to me at the time I received the unit, and I already disable it.