ttexplorer

Discussion in 'TomTom 3rd Party Software' started by ytrvg, May 15, 2012.

  1. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    Hi, I have tried installing ttexplorer. I managed to get the icon in the menu but when I tap the screen it turns multi coloured and freezes?

    Thanks
     
    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. ytrvg

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    ttexplore works only on the following Tomtom devices in v6 version: GOx10, GOx00, Rider, One and OneV2.

    There used to be an 'app' called filexplorer 1.1 but I haven't been able to find it recently. Perhaps someone else . . . ?

    Best regards.
     
    alfie67, May 15, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    thank you for your reply.

    I have it in main menu but when you tap it the screen is babbled!

    you would think you wold be able to explore and change files using tomtom home?
     
    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #3
  4. ytrvg

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    The softpedia.com filexplorer is meant to be used on Windows NT / 2K / XP / Vista / 7; it will not install onto your TomTom.

    Why don't you just use your windows explorer to explore and change the files on your TomTom? If you don't like windows explorer, there are others available (such as the one you referenced); TotalCommander; PowerDesk (excellent).

    What computer do you currently have TomTom Home installed on?
     
    alfie67, May 15, 2012
    #4
  5. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    yes sorry, I realised and tried to edit the post. I didnt realise you could use windows explorer to explore the internal flash?
     
    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #5
  6. ytrvg

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    Using windows explorer, your TomTom should show up as an external storage device, assigned a drive letter which would appear something like this: TomTom V1 (G: )

    Caution - if you are not familiar with computer-like file structures, be very careful about deleting files or folders on your Tomtom! You may accidentally delete a file which is necessary for the operation of your TomTom.

    The best advice we can give you before you venture into making any changes, is to make an explorer (not TomTom Home) backup of the contents of your TomTom. See supermod dhn's excellent instructions HERE .
     
    alfie67, May 15, 2012
    #6
  7. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    yes thanks I understand how windows explorer works but I want to access the internal memory.?
     
    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #7
  8. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #8
  9. ytrvg

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    I honestly don't think so, but . . .

    What computer do you currently have TomTom Home installed on?

    Does your computer recognize it as a mounted drive when you connect it to the TomTom?

    I'm rather befuddled as to why you need to install a program on your TomTom in order to look at its contents.
     
    alfie67, May 15, 2012
    #9
  10. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    im trying to locate and delete. the combined ini file I assume its on the flash memory inside the device?

    the sd card shows up as F drive.
     
    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #10
  11. ytrvg

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    I'd recommend waiting until someone else comes aboard to confirm booting up your One V1 without the SD card inserted (I do this with mine, but I've never done it with your model). I am able to browse my internal memory files with the SD card inserted, or, I can browse the SD files when it is inserted - all by using my computer's windows explorer.
     
    alfie67, May 15, 2012
    #11
  12. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    i am on a laptop using win 7.

    not sure im able to do this.
     
    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #12
  13. ytrvg

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    I assume the internal shows as the E:\ drive if the sd card appears as F:\

    You can access the contents of each using the built in to Windows Explorer. You don't need a 3rd party app, especially one that needs installing on the unit.
     
    dhn, May 15, 2012
    #13
  14. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    E is DVD RW
    F appears when connected to PC with card inserted.
    F also appears when no card inserted but asks to insert card when you click on disk.
    There is no other disk when card inserted and connected to PC except F which is the sd card.
     

    Attached Files:

    ytrvg, May 15, 2012
    #14
  15. ytrvg

    dhn Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    23,072
    Likes Received:
    446
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    TomTom Model(s):
    1535 LIVE; Via 1605; Go 50; Go 520
    Well, do you have card reader that can be used for the sd card?
     
    dhn, May 15, 2012
    #15
  16. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    reading the sd card isnt the problem I want to be able to read the internal drive.
     
    ytrvg, May 16, 2012
    #16
  17. ytrvg

    alfie67

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    8
    TomTom Model(s):
    340S TM (2011), ONE XL (2008)
    Correction to my previous post which contained a typo: "I am able to browse my internal memory files withOUT the SD card inserted . . . "

    Sometimes what we want, isn't always possible. Sorry I can't help you. That early model with its limited internal memory has the map installed on the SD card. If the card is required for operation, there is no way I personally know of which will allow you to access internal memory.

    If you aren't having any issues with the unit's operation, why may I ask do you want to access an 'ini' file?
     
    alfie67, May 16, 2012
    #17
  18. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    From further research it seems the v1 has no internal memory its all on the sd card.

    I am having problem with voices was advised I need to delete the ini.
     
    ytrvg, May 16, 2012
    #18
  19. ytrvg

    Andy_P Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    4,683
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London, UK.
    TomTom Model(s):
    Go520,720,XL Live, Start60,Go940,950,1000,1005,New500,New5000
    Which .ini file. What's the full name?

    The only .ini files I can find on any of my TT's or many backups are "local.ini" and "image.ini" both of which are in the tomTom-Cfg folder and they don't look like they have anything to do with voices...

    Maybe you should just start again and tell us the actual problem you are having with the voices? Someone is far more likely to have a solution or some suggestions for you if they know what the symptoms are..
     
    Andy_P, May 16, 2012
    #19
  20. ytrvg

    ytrvg

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cheshire
    TomTom Model(s):
    one v1
    Apologies for my late reply.

    The problem I am having is that I have installed new voices and although they show onTomTom home. I am unable to see them on my device.
     
    ytrvg, May 18, 2012
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
Loading...